Wednesday, Sep 19, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Barbara Hendel


Help comes hot off the presses


    Barbara Hendel.

  • 05f5utphil2-jpg

    Ann Redmond (Women & Philanthropy member), Nancy Lapp (chair of the Women & Philanthropy grants committee)

  • 05f5utphil1-jpg

    Ellie Brunner and Fran Anderson (Women & Philanthropy members); Elena De Alfredo and Andola Dortch (UT women’s basketball players)

  • ae9db62b-f781-430e-bdb5-d1b2855124d4

    Past President Pat Markland, Paper Sale Chair Tracey Edwards, Banquet Co-Chair Michele Kriner

  • 817d536e-5cce-41e6-a8a9-710255892b80

    John Mattimoe, President thanking Dick Fuller The Blade


MORE THAN 500 Old Newsboys Goodfellow Association volunteers will hawk their Charity Edition paper Friday at The Andersons, Westfield Franklin Park, grocery stores, bowling alleys, credit unions, and more. The fund-raising goal is $200,000.

Their purpose is to provide immediate temporary assistance in emergency situations. They provide clothing, food, or medical care whenever a school administrator, police officer, or neighbor reports that a child is in need.

It is not a substitute for public welfare or social agencies and does not provide ongoing assistance.

This year’s paper sale chairman is Tracey Edwards. Emilie Voss of WTOL-TV, Channel 11 and FOX Toledo is the honorary paper sale chairman.

For donations go to or call 419.376.2230,

The Old Newsboys Goodfellow Association 84th Annual Awards & Scholarship Banquet at the Premiere Banquet Complex kicked off the paper drive on Monday.

The Old News Boys board includes president John Mattimo, who talked about last year’s statistics: $200,000 for clothing, nearly 1,000 Christmas food baskets to families, a drug awareness program, scholarships for college, and athletic wards. The club’s officers include Tracey Edwards, Emilio Ramirez, Jeff Ogg, David Taylor, Jim Melms, Rachel Doran, Richard Buchholz, and Robert Lesinski.

Buckeye Cablesystem general manager Veronica Pinciotti and Tom Cole, sports director, presented the sports awards.

Ron Shnider, scholarship chairman, who was assisted by David Williams and Cathy Melms, presented the scholarships which were $5,000 each.

Among the committee chairmen are Tim Reny, Rex Maxwell, Bill Sanford, John Mattimoe, Denise Kamcza, Greg Loeb, Jay Gast, Stan Czerminski, Dave Lehman, Jack Renz, Dave Hendricks, and Stan Czerminski.

Scholarship Recipients are

  • Tammie Boyd, Bowling Green State University, the Ray Kest Sr. Scholarship.
  • Baylee Henderson, Toledo Early College High School, the Joe Gallon Scholarship.
  • Arielle White, Toledo Early College High School, the Paul Block, Jr. Scholarship.
  • Steven Kihsel, Toledo Early College High School, the William Block Sr. Scholarship.
  • Allison Mitchell, Bowsher High School, the Howard LaFountaine Scholarship.
  • Anthony Neff, Waite High School, the Bob & Sharon Standriff Scholarship.
  • Anthony Lockett, Central Catholic High School, the Phil Zimmerman Scholarship.
  • Allison Thompson, Notre Dame Academy, the James Brennan Sr. Scholarship.
  • Armond Wimberly, Start High School, the Al & Edna Shnider Scholarship.
  • Volleyball Players:
  • Maurissa Leonard – Saint Ursula Academy (winner)
  • Lauren Graves - Saint Ursula Academy
  • Audra Appold - Perrysburg High School

Athletic scholarships went to DeShone Kizer, of Central Catholic High School, and Maurissa Leonard, of Saint Ursula Academy. Other nominees were Lauren Graves, Saint Ursula Academy; Audra Appold, Perrysburg High School; Lamar Carswell, St. Francis de Sales High School, and Austin Schimmoeller, Bryan High School.

For information go to

THE UNIVERSITY of Toledo dedicated the Women & Philanthropy Media Room during a Nov. 21 reception. The room in the Savage Arena was updated thanks to a lead gift of $23,000 grant from Women & Philanthropy at the University of Toledo.

New furniture, carpet, lighting, and images on the walls depicting historic moments in UT’s sports set a cozy and inspiring scene. The media room is used for media and news conferences and for special events such as graduations, concerts and meetings.

Women & Philanthropy at the University of Toledo was chartered in 2006 and made its first award in 2008. In six years, the group has provided $241,931 through grants, according to Chris Spengler who is a member and the administrative contact for Women & Philanthropy. Marianne Ballas is the chairman of Women & Philanthropy at the University of Toledo, and Nancy Lapp is the chairman of the Women & Philanthropy grants committee.

THE Toledo Club is taking reservations for its Festival of Trees with dinner. The public viewing nights are Tuesday and Wednesday and Dec. 17, 18, and 19 with dinner buffet starting at 5:30 p.m. Entertainment is provided by local choirs and the cost is $35 per person. Reservations are required. Information: 419-254-2961.

Contact Blade Society Writer Barbara Hendel at 419-724-6124 or at

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…