Saturday, May 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Barbara Hendel


Medical missionaries are honored

  • Barbara-Hendel-2

  • Dr-David-Mierzwiak-incoming-chief-of-staff-and-Kathleen-Mierzwiak

    Dr. David Mierzwiak (incoming chief of staff) and Kathleen Mierzwiak.

  • dce5f0da-c010-4b0b-943c-9ec6fde456f9

  • Dr-Agha-Shahid-Dr-Shirish-Shah-receiving-an-award

    Dr. Agha Shahid, Dr. Shirish Shah receiving an award for 35 years of service, Alan Sattler.

  • 4bde5446-2acf-4830-b329-3506c237a329

    Jack Meade/University of Toledo

  • Jack-Jones-of-Poggemeyer-Design-Grou

    Jack Jones of Poggemeyer Design Groups stands next to Wood County Commissioner Doris Herringshaw at the Wood County Economic Development Commission’s awards dinner.

SYLVANIA resident Dr. Kristopher Brickman was honored Saturday with the Lawrence V. Conway Lifetime Distinguished Service Award during the Medical Mission Hall of Fame induction ceremony and reception in the Howard L. Collier Building on the University of Toledo Health Science Campus. Dr. Brickman, chairman of the department of emergency medicine and vice chief of staff at the UT Medical Center, formerly the Medical College of Ohio, is the founder and director of the UT office of global health.

The Medical Mission Hall of Fame was founded by Mr. Conway to honor medical missionaries and is headquartered at UT.

The 2014 hall of fame class of inductees are: Dr. Richard Bransford and Millie Bransford of Boon, NC., who during 20-plus years of work in Kenya founded a children's center and a surgical referral center for children with disabilities; Dr. Pedro Obregon II and Judith Obregon, of Venice, Fla., who started in Columbus with two homeless clinics, then moved on to address the medical and surgical needs of the poor in the Philippines, Eastern Europe, South America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East, and Doctors Without Borders of New York and Paris, a national and international aid organization which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1999. Its relief workers have provided medical assistance in more than 70 countries dealing with armed conflicts, epidemics, disasters, and more. Accepting the award was USA board president, Dr. Deane Masrchbein.


THE Wood County Economic Development Commission (WCEDC) celebrated its 21st anniversary during its 21st annual dinner March 19 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Perrysburg. Since its inception the commission has facilitated more than $3 billion of investment in Wood County. Wood County native Jerry Anderson of WTOL-TV, Channel 11 was the emcee of the event that drew about 500 business and civic leaders from across northwest Ohio and beyond.

The annual Corporate Citizen of the Year award was presented to Poggemeyer Design Group. Accepting the honor was Jack Jones. Rex Huffman, immediate past president, was presented with a proclamation from the Wood County commissioners. Lane Williamson, the new president, was installed along with his officers.


THE annual medical staff dinner for ProMedica Flower Hospital was March 14 at Franciscan Center at Lourdes University. President Alan Sattler and Dr. Agha Shahid, chief of staff, welcomed everyone.

The evening of camaraderie included dinner and dancing to the the Motown tunes of KGB. Among the more than 100 physicians and guests were board members including Dr. Nasir Ali, Jim Armstrong, Barbara Baumgartner, Walter Churchill, and Karen Jenkins.


DR. DAVID Mierzwiak of Omni Health Services Limited has been inducted as chief of staff at ProMedica Bay Park Hospital. The ceremony was Feb. 7 at the Toledo Club with the outgoing chief of staff, Dr. Tara Robinson of Maumee Bay Family Practice.


THE Sylvania Area Chamber of Commerce announced the 2014 Chamber Champions during the Showcase Sylvania Expo Preview Party on March 21 at Tam-O-Shanter, where the 12th annual expo was held the next day with more than 4,000 attendees.

This year's honored businesses and leaders are: Lowe's, Over the Rainbow Early Learning Center, Mancy's Italian, Lamar Outdoor, Sylvania Community Arts Commission, Dave White Chevrolet/Dave White, and volunteer of the year awardee Jeff Stansley. A special award was presented to 2013 Sylvania Area Chamber Board chairman Brad Rieger, Sylvania superintendent of schools. Honorees received an art piece designed by Jim Yarrito.


GREATER Toledo and northwest Ohio will be designated as a Compassionate Community. The signing ceremony is April 25 at One Government Center. Kudos to Judy and Woody Trautman, the visionaries for this accomplishment. Immediately following the ceremony is the Compassionate Convention at One SeaGate. The grand finale will be the 13th Annual Heroes of Compassion Banquet at Lourdes University, April 27 with guest speaker the Rev. Jim Bacik. Twelve heroes will be honored.

In the meantime, a free viewing of a documentary film Enemy of The Reich: The Noor Inayat Khan Story takes place Sunday at the Toledo Museum of Art Peristyle. One of the film producers, Michael Wolfe, will be present.

Contact Blade Society Writer Barbara Hendel at 419-724-6124 or at

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…