BG recruit Meyers gets first D-III honor

Oak Harbor’s Kontak recognized as coach

Oak Harbor coach Tom Kontak.
Oak Harbor coach Tom Kontak.

Oak Harbor girls basketball coach Tom Kontak shared the Division III coach of the year honors in the Associated Press All-Ohio team that was released on Tuesday.

Kontak led the Rockets to a 20-5 record and took them to their first sectional title in 11 years.

Liberty-Benton senior Rachel Myers, who averaged 23.3 points per game, earned first-team all-state honors in Division III.

Myers helped lead the Eagles to a 22-3 record and berth in the regional semifinals. She set a school record for 3-pointers with 207. Myers has signed to play at Bowling Green State University.

Archbold senior Cassidy Wyse, who averaged 14.1 points per game, was named to the Division III All-Ohio second team.

Oak Harbor sophomore Andrea Cecil, who scored 19.6 points per game, earned a spot on the D-III third team.

In Division IV, Holgate senior Marissa Myles earned All-Ohio second-team honors. Fostoria St. Wendelin sophomore Kamryn Troike also was named to the D-IV second team.

Kontak, who is in his second season at Oak Harbor, has a 36-13 record. The Rockets reached the district finals and placed second in the Sandusky Bay Conference.

Kontak shared the All-Ohio honors with Jeff Compan of Andover Pymatuning Valley and Jared Crowe of New Lebanon Dixie.

Cecil, a 6-foot forward, averaged 7.6 rebounds a game under Kontak.

Wyse, a 5-foot-10 forward, led Archbold (24-3) to the D-III regional finals. Wyse also averaged 6.4 rebounds and 2.7 assists per contest.

Myles has led Holgate (23-4) to the Division IV state semifinals for the first time since 2003. The Tigers play No. 3-ranked Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans (26-1) on Thursday. Myles, a 6-foot forward, averages a double-double with 13.8 points and 11.0 rebounds per contest.

Troike, a 6-3 center, led St. Wendelin to a 17-5 record. She also scored 20.7 points and grabbed 14.0 rebounds per game.

In Division IV, special mention honors went to Molly Glick of Arcadia and Dana Fricke of Pettisville.

The co-players of the year in Division III were Alexa Hart of Columbus Africentric and Terra Stapleton of Proctorville Fairland.

The Division IV players of the year were Jenna Burdette of Reedsville Eastern and Darian Rose of Fort Loramie.

The D-IV coaches of the year were Matt Proper of Danville, Al Martin of Cuyahoga Heights, Phil Vaughn of Carey, and Toby Sheets, of Fayetteville-Perry.