Three UT women earn All-MAC honors

  • SPT-UTWBB06-14

    Toledo's Mikaela Boyd shoots over Kent State's Alexa Golden in Monday's Mid-American Conference first-round tournament contest at Savage Arena. Boyd was named All-MAC third team and also earned a spot on the league's all-defensive squad.


  • Three members of the University of Toledo women’s basketball team have been honored by the Mid-American Conference for their play this season.

    Kaayla McIntyre and Mikaela Boyd were named third-team All-MAC in a vote of the league’s coaches, while Jay-Ann Bravo-Harriott received honorable mention.

    McIntyre, a junior who played her high school ball at Notre Dame Academy, averaged 16.1 points and 7.5 rebounds per game this past season while leading the MAC in field-goal shooting at 63.8 percent. Boyd averaged 12.4 points per contest while leading the Rockets with 8.2 rebounds and 4.3 assists per game, while Bravo-Harriott added 12.7 points per game as a senior and was sixth in the league in 3-pointers made with 74.

    Boyd, a junior who ranked fifth in the MAC in steals with 2.4 per game, also was one of five players named to the MAC all-defensive team.

    Central Michigan’s Tinara Moore was voted MAC player of the year and also was the league’s defensive player of the year, while CMU coach Sue Guevara was narrowly selected as coach of the year over Megan Duffy of Miami. The Chippewas went 17-1 in the league standings and have the No. 1 seed in the league tournament.

    CeCe Hooks of Ohio was chosen as the league’s freshman of the year in another close vote over Courtnie Lewis of Eastern Michigan, while a third freshman, Oshlynn Brown of Ball State, was the sixth player of the year.

    Bowling Green did not have any players receive postseason honors.

    Contact John Wagner at jwagner@theblade.com419-724-6481, or on Twitter @jwagnerblade.