Affected counties for disaster-relief loans include Defiance, Van Wert, Williams


May 6 is the deadline for small businesses in nine western Ohio counties to apply for federal loans to offset losses resulting from heat, frost, freezes, and drought that began Feb. 1, 2012. The affected counties include Defiance, Van Wert, and Williams.

The Small Business Administration’s economic injury disaster loan program is available to farm and nonfarm entities that suffered financial losses as a result of the weather. Loans up to $2 million are available, with interest rates of 3 percent for nonprofit organizations and 4 percent for businesses.

Applications can be downloaded from For more information, call 800-659-2955 or email