Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Panel to help find next UT provost

University of Toledo faculty members said yesterday they want a provost who will fight for them instead of against them.

The comments were made in a public meeting yesterday to start the search for a permanent provost to replace Dr. Henry Moon, who resigned in May, 2000.

University officials announced yesterday that President Daniel Johnson has appointed a committee of 18 people to conduct the search.

Faculty speakers at the meeting said they wanted a provost who would communicate with them and represent their concerns to the president and the board of trustees.

“The position of provost is absolutely critical,” said David Wilson, an associate professor of political science. “Instead of being used as a club to beat faculty into submission, at a minimum [the provost] should be an emissary of the administration to us.”

Several speakers said the faculty have seen their role in the governance of the university diminish.

The meeting was moderated by Allan Ostar, a consultant for Academic Search Consultation Service of Washington, which has been hired by Dr. Johnson to coordinate the provost search.

Dr. William Free, an English professor, has been interim provost since Dr. Moon's departure.

Mr. Ostar said he expects to bring up to five finalists to campus for interviews the week of Nov. 4, with appointment of a provost in time for the second semester.

Co-chairing the search are Carol Menning, professor of history and chair of the faculty senate, and William Decatur, vice president for finance and administration. Dr. Johnson appointed one person from outside the university - Amira Gohara, provost of Medical College of Ohio - and plans to appoint another.

Additional committee members from UT are:

  • John Boening, professor of English.

  • Patricia Komuniecki, professor and chair of biology.

  • Ellen Bolman Pullins, assistant professor of professional sales and marketing.

  • Penny Poplin Gosetti, associate professor of foundations and leadership and vice chair of the faculty senate.

  • Brian Randolph, professor and chair of civil engineering.

  • Rhoda Berkowitz, professor of law.

  • Charles Terbille, associate professor and interim co-director of Carlson Library.

  • Kathy Wall, associate professor of medicinal and biological chemistry.

  • Mary Humphrys, associate professor of business technology.

  • Harvey Wolff, professor of mathematics and president of the UT chapter of the American Association of University Professors.

  • Celia Williamson, assistant professor of social work.

  • Jerome Sullivan, dean of the college of health and human services.

  • Becky Mocniak, vice president of student government.

  • Ricardo King, assistant dean of law career services.

    Click to comment
  • Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

    Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

    Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

    To Top

    Fetching stories…