Thursday, Jun 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio



The National Football Foundation, Toledo Wister chapter, will honor the following area scholar athletes at an awards banquet on March 14 at the Stranahan Theater.

The students have at least a 3.2 grade point average, have been named to an All-League or higher post season squad, and have been active in community and school non-sport events.

They include Dan Amato and Nick Boyle of Central Catholic High School; Kyle Andrews, Clay Dubendorfer, and J.J. Fought of Whitmer High School; Tony Gase of Wauseon High School; Corey Gladieux of Maumee High School; Ryan Gombash of Delta High School; Kyle Kleeberger of Rossford High School; Aaron Roelfs of Erie-Mason High School; Brandon Snyder and Andrew Stickel of Eastwood High; Matt Foley of Start High School; Aaron Waldie of Sylvania Southview High School, and Brian Ramsey and James Wheeler of St. John's Jesuit High School.

Katherine Swisher, 18, of Martin, Ohio has received a state-level certificate of excellence for community service from the 2005 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program.

A senior member of Troop 930, she was nominated for the award by the Girl Scouts of Maumee Valley Council in Toledo. Katherine earned her award by helping to create a children's room at a local battered women's shelter.

She also helped to raise money to provide the room with a new television, decorations, furniture, and toys as well as books.

Two area teachers, Paulette Moszkowitz of Central Elementary in the Sylvania City Schools district, and JoAnne Rupp of Archbold Middle School in the Archbold Area School District, were among 13 regional finalists in the bid to be named 2005 Ohio Technology Teacher of the Year.

Finalists were honored at an awards reception, each receiving a plaque and registration for the three-day Ohio SchoolNet State Technology conference held mid-February in Columbus.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…