Bedford Schools board recognizes scholarship winners


The school board recognized the winners of the Mudge Spencer-Chet Karpanty scholarship for outstanding student athletes at its regular meeting last week.

Ellen Hays, a volleyball player, and Mitch Rogaliner, a wrestler, have each been awarded $1,000.

The board also recognized the high school track relay teams consisting of Katie Bules, Kaitlyn Leist, Roma Lucarelli, Megan McCor-mick, and Nicole Rightnowar, along with coaches Jim Lopinski and Jeff Davis, for the team’s achievement in qualifying for the state meet.

The board also recognized Debbie May, the robotics coordinator and coach, for attracting $2,500 in donations for the district’s robotics programs. Ms. May announced that the number of junior high robotics teams has been doubled, to four.