Whitmer’s McCarver named to All-Ohio first team squad

Keshyra McCarver
Keshyra McCarver

Whitmer junior Keshyra McCarver has been selected to the Associated Press Division I girls All-Ohio first team, and Perrysburg’s Todd Sims has been chosen co-coach of the year in D-I.

McCarver, a 5-10 forward who helped the Panthers to a 16-6 regular-season finish, averaged 17.7 points and 8.7 rebounds per game.

Sims, in his fourth season as the Yellow Jackets head coach after 20 years as an assistant, guided Perrysburg to a 20-1 regular season, a 14-0 first-place finish in the Northern Lakes League, and a No. 8 state ranking.

His Jackets have posted a 78-18 overall record in his four seasons and reached the D-I regionals three times.

He shared the state coaching honors with Julie Solis of top-ranked defending state champion Twinsburg and Trish Kruse of Solon.

Sims’ top player, 6-1 junior forward Sarah Baer (13.2 points, 7.8 rebounds), was named to the D-I second team, and 6-0 sophomore guard Tierra Floyd (10.9 points, 7.4 rebounds) of Three Rivers Athletic Conference champion Notre Dame (19-3 regular season) was picked to the third team.

Floyd has helped lead the Eagles (25-3) to the D-I state semifinals for the second straight year.

The D-I player of the year is Ashley Morrissette of Twinsburg.