Start Spartans

City League

2013 Start Spartans
2013 Start Spartans

Team photo from left:

Row 1: Daquan McBride, Deonte Pettaway, Avian Boyd, Jordan Lafartha, Jacob Salinas, Tremain Batson, Chris Adams, Zack Flaws, Jared Eff, Nick Sterger, Daniel Gratz

Row 2: Donald Hatch, Tyler Braatz, Elijah White, Derek Corey-Goodman, Tyler Cox, Malik McKinney, Brendon Holbrook, Trey Moran, Chris Kos, Jaquan Hughes

Row 3: Brandon Taylor, Jared Barnhill, Aaron Williams, Chris Lawrence, Jerel Perry, Jared Jabolinski, Brandon Scott, Marcus Harper, Khalil Burrell

Row 4: Tareek Mosby, Max Brooks, Jacob Sobecki, Jeremiah Neal, Austin Hill, Mike Williams, Isaiah Pullella

Row 5: Aaron Edwards, Evan Fritts, Brandon Hand, Derrick Austin, Jahneil Douglas, Tino Lopez, Brandon Winters, Khalio Peace, Detryck Bell-Singletary



Coach: Tyson Harder, fourth year

Last season: 5-5, 4-1 CL

Returning letter winners: 18

Returning starters: Offense 5, defense 5

Schemes: Spread/‚Äč4-3

Top players: Seniors Avion Boyd, 6-0, 210, RB-LB; Tremain Batson, 6-3, 195, WR-DB; Jared Eff, 6-1, 215, OL-LB; Jordan Lafartha, 6-1, 220, OL-LB; Chris Adams, 6-3, 195, WR-DB.

Outlook: The Spartans came close to winning a league title for the second year in a row in 2012.

A one-point loss to eventual champion Bowsher is what motivates a Spartans team that enters this campaign with more questions than answers in regard to experience and depth.

This year's team will look a lot different. Deshawn Woodward (seven TDs), Will Goodbar (six TDs) and Dexter Johnson (six TDs) — scoring threats a year ago — have been loss to graduation. Finding players to fill their shoes will be key.

Harder believes the Spartans' toughest test will be finding leadership from his senior class. The depth of the team lies in the junior and sophomore classes.

He was encouraged about how the team approached conditioning and lifting weights during the offseason.

"We have only 12 seniors out, so we're going to be very, very young," Harder said. "But we're very happy with our young kids."



Aug. 30-Cleveland John Hay

Sep. 6-Anthony Wayne

Sep. 13-at Maumee

Sep. 20-Bryan

Sep. 27-at Vermilion

Oct. 4-Scott

Oct. 11-at Waite

Oct. 17-Rogers

Oct. 25-Woodward

Nov. 1-at Bowsher