Delta has 8 winners to defend NWOAL crown


METAMORA — Delta defended its Northwest Ohio Athletic League crown behind eight individual champions at the league meet on Saturday.

Drew Mattin (106), Jake Spiess (113), Kyle Keller (120), Noah Mattin (126), Jesse Beverly (152), Tyler Fahrer (160), Ryan Patchin (182), and Chance Veller (285) each won titles for the Panthers.

Delta's 292 points topped Wauseon (205), Archbold (196), Bryan (69.5), Liberty Center (66), Evergreen (54), Patrick Henry (48.5), Swanton (43.5) and Montpelier 41.5).

Wauseon captured three individual titles as did Archbold.

Wade Hodges (132), Aaron Schuette (170), and Tony Banister (195) won for Wauseon, while Kenny Price (138), Logan Day (145) and Travis Jaramillo (220) earned titles for Archbold.

Van Buren captures OWL championship

Van Buren captured the Ohio Wrestling League championships at Toledo Christian behind four first-place finishers.

Austin Corey (113), Noah Schumacher (120), Chance Sonnenberg (170) and Isaac Sexton (285) each won titles for Van Buren.

The Black Knights finished the meet with 150 points, narrowly edging Gibsonburg (144), followed by Arcadia (58.5), Northwood (56) Cory-Rawson (55.5), McComb (51), Toledo Christian (47.5) Cardinal Stritch (33) and Danbury (16).

Gibsonburg earned five titles, with Bryce Mendoza (106), Griffin Geary (145), Antonio Vasquez (152), Dan Henline (182) and Jacob Auld (220) taking conference honors.

Northwood's Devon Dunbar (126) and Trevor Mack (138) also won championships. Other winners were Arcadia's Jarrod Bowman (132), Cory-Rawson's Dylen Hartman (160) and Danbury's Jonathan McClellan (195).

NOTE: Results from City League and Northern Buckeye Conference wrestling championships were not provided to The Blade.