Friday, October 09, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Friday, 5/9/2014

Hersch named coach of the year

BCSN honors Springfield assistant along with teacher, student


When Kaitlynn Hersch became an assistant swimming coach at Springfield High School, she knew what motivated her to return and contribute to her alma mater.

“I really wanted to come back and help the team grow,” said Hersch, who is in her second year of coaching. 

“My freshman year was the second year we had a swim team, so I knew when I graduated that I wanted to come back and make the team better and stronger, and to get our name out there.”

Hersch was named the BCSN Coach of the Year and she was one of three individuals honored Thursday by Buckeye Cable Sports Network at BCSN’s 2014 Awards Ceremony at the Valentine Theatre.

Samantha Fletcher, a senior at Rogers, was named the BCSN Student of the Year. Chris Klosterman, a social studies teacher at Clay, was named the BCSN Teacher of the Year.

“When you look at everyone who is up here, it’s very impressive,” Fletcher said. “You’ve got varied schools and interests. To be one of eight students who were nominated, I was so grateful and thrilled to be a part of it.”

Hersch was one of three finalists for Coach of the Year, joining St. John’s Jesuit crew coach Phil Levering and St. Francis football coach Chris Hedden. Hersch, Levering, and Hedden were nominated by their respective schools and were named coaches of the year for the winter, spring, and fall sports seasons. Hersch receives a $1,000 cash prize and Springfield’s athletic department will receive $2,000.

Fletcher plans to study at the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, N.Y., and will receive a $16,000 scholarship worth $4,000 per year and renewable for four years. 

Fletcher was one of eight high school seniors nominated, joining Jacob LaPoint and Patrick McCauley of Whitmer, Jennifer Zaurov of Ottawa Hills, Margo Jackson of Rossford, Armond Wimberly of Start, Sarah Raymond of Northwood, and Joseph Wood of Springfield.

Klosterman will receive a $1,000 cash award, a gift for his classroom with a value of up to $1,500, and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in his name at Clay. 

Klosterman was one of eight nominees for the award, joining Michael Smith of Perrysburg, Steven Tozer-Wipfli and Tim Adkins of Ottawa Hills, Maryann Fishbaugh of St. Ursula Academy, Allison Sniegowski of Rogers, James Howe of Springfield, and Keith Hershey of Bowsher.

Block Communications Inc. is the parent company of BCSN and The Blade.

Contact Rachel Lenzi at: rlenzi@theblade.com, 419-724-6510, or on Twitter @RLenziBlade.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories