Thursday, February 11, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 5/16/2004

O Connells win sectional doubles

James O Connell and cousin Mike O Connell of St. Francis de Sales captured the doubles championship in the Division I sectional tennis tournament at Perrysburg yesterday with the loss of only one game during the tournament.

The O Connells won the final 6-1, 6-0 over Knight teammates Peter Jajou and Steve Cabanski.

Adam Shaeffer of Perrysburg topped Andy Polesovsky of Maumee in the singles final 6-3, 6-1.

At Jermain Park, City League champion St. John s Jesuit dominated in Division I with James Davis beating teammate Tyler Sbrocchi 6-1, 6-0 for the singles title.

Deepak Adappa and Dusty DeLelles toppled Titan teammates Phil and Rollin Urrutia 6-1, 6-1 for the doubles crown.

Lexington athletes swept the top places in D-I at Sandusky with Ty Schaub shutting out Nate Hershner in singles and Josh Adams and Drew Bolesky downing Nathan Jones and Drew McCann for the doubles title 7-6 (1), 6-1.

Nick Casalbore of Findlay beat teammate Kyle Collette for the singles championship in D-I at Ohio Northern, which was contested indoors at the Findlay YMCA.

Defending champion Brian Buckey of Ottawa Hills had been seeded only third at the Division II tournament at Ottawa Hills, but he proved that to be a mistake, defeating Andy Redd of Archbold 6-0, 7-5 for the title.

In doubles, fourth-seeded Maumee Valley s Abi Pai and Craig Choka handled everyone, including a 6-3, 6-2 triumph over Rossford s Brad Jones and Ryan Baird in the title match.

Huron players won both titles at the D-II Port Clinton site, which was actually played in Sandusky because of the weather. Phil Conley blanked teammate Chris Pell in singles, with Ryan Hodges and Andy Hohler outlasting Port Clinton s Ben Ludigs and Brendan Shirkey 4-6, 7-5, 6-2 in doubles.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.