Thursday, November 26, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 5/14/2009

Teacher, student to be honored

BCSN will host its third annual Scholarship Awards dinner at the Pinnacle from 6-8 p.m. on Monday. A BCSN teacher of the year and student of the year will be selected from amnong eight nominees in each category.

The student of the year program is administered by the Toledo Community Foundation, recognizing college bound seniors.

The scholarship is worth a minimum of $16,000 which can be applied toward tuition, room and board, books and fees. The renewable scholarship will be awarded in increments of $4,000 annually, provided the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative GPA and full time status.

The eight nominees are Anne McCarthy, Central Catholic; Alyssa Hetrick, Perrysburg; Garret Price, Whitmer; Yalona Blair, Woodward; Joe Jablonski, St. Francis de Sales; Najee Abou-Arraj, St. John's Jesuit; Brian Haugh, Bowsher, and Courtney Kenney, Waite.

The teacher of the year will come from among Adele Dahlin, Central Catholic; Dennis Slotnick, Clay; Charles Schneider; Clay; Valerie Sido, Anthony Wayne; Mary Anne Preston, Ottawa Hills; Steve Swaggerty, Southview; Scott Earl, Bedford, and Jolyn Heavener, Waite.

The teacher of the year will receive a $1,000 cash award, a gift for his/her classroom (value of up to $1,500), and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in his/her name from which one scholarship will be awarded through the school on an annual basis.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.