Ohio, Michigan anglers about to begin ‘new’ year

  • Matt-Markey-mug-2

  • There is the fiscal year, the academic year, and the calendar year, but for anglers, the new year really starts when the new fishing licenses are due. In Ohio, that day is Saturday, while in Michigan, a 2014 license is required by April 1.

    Anglers in the Buckeye State will find the $19 price unchanged for their annual license, which will be good through Feb. 28, 2015. In The Great Lakes State, the fishing and hunting license structure went through a major overhaul recently, cutting the number of different license types available from about 230 down to around 40. Those changes go into effect with sales on Saturday.

    For anglers, Michigan has eliminated the option of purchasing either a restricted species or all species license, and set the resident all species season license at $25. Last season, Michigan anglers could purchase a restricted species license for $15, but were required to pay an additional $13 to fish for trout and/​or salmon.

    The cost of a nonresident Michigan fishing license has increased considerably, from $42 last year to $75 for 2014-15. Michigan will also offer a combination license for hunting & fishing, at a cost of $75 for residents and $265 for nonresidents.

    In Ohio, the prices for hunting and trapping licenses and permits are all the same as the previous year.

    New Ohio fishing, trapping and hunting licenses will include a transaction receipt and the effective dates for the corresponding fishing, hunting, or trapping season. The licenses and permits are printed on plain, nonwaterproof paper and should be laminated for durability.

    For Ohio anglers, the new licenses can be purchased at hundreds of bait shops, tackle supply stores, sporting goods retailers, and in the sporting goods department of many major retailers. A list of the outlets selling fishing licenses can be found at wildohio.com. Fishing, hunting, and

    trapping licenses are also available at ww1.oh.wildlifelicense.com.

    Under Michigan’s new license system, which was signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder in September, hunters will be required to purchase a “base” license at $11 for residents and $151 for nonresidents. With the base license, hunters can pursue small game. They must purchase additional permits or licenses to hunt deer, bear, waterfowl, turkey, elk, or wolves.

    The Michigan DNR anticipates that the changes in the license structure and fee system will generate about $18 million a year in new revenue, which the state expects to use to enhance wildlife habitat, develop additional hunting opportunities, conduct hunter outreach programs, and strengthen law enforcement.

    The Michigan all-species fishing, base hunting, and hunt/​fish combination licenses will all carry a $1 surcharge. The new law dictates that the revenue generated from this surcharge be dedicated to informing the public about the benefits of hunting, fishing and trapping in the state, and the related impact of these outdoors activities on the conservation, preservation, and management of Michigan’s natural resources.

    Michigan hunting and fishing licenses are available at retail agents throughout the state and can also be purchased online via computer, smartphone, or tablet at mdnr-elicense.com.

    Contact Blade outdoors editor Matt Markey at: mmarkey@theblade.com or 419-724-6068.