Saturday, July 04, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 12/8/2008

Wells is OSU's MVP


COLUMBUS - Junior tailback Chris "Beanie" Wells received the most valuable player award at yesterday's Ohio State football appreciation banquet.

Wells also won the Archie Griffin Award as the Buckeyes' most outstanding offensive player. Despite missing three games early in the season with a foot injury, Wells gained 1,091 yards, scored eight touchdowns, and averaged almost six yards per carry. He also received the Rex Kern Award as the team's most outstanding offensive back.

Linebacker James Laurinaitis and defensive back Malcolm Jenkins shared the Bill Willis Award in recognition of the team's most outstanding defensive player. Laurinaitis also won the Randy Gradishar Award as the team's top linebacker, and Jenkins shared the Arnie Chonko Award as the top defensive back with Kurt Coleman.

Senior Brian Robiskie took the Paul Warfield Award as the top receiver, while freshman quarterback Terrelle Pryor was the top first-year offensive player, and lineman Nathan Williams won the first-year award on the defensive side. Alex Boone won the Jim Parker Award as the top offensive lineman, while Nader Abdallah won the Jack Stephenson Award as the top defensive lineman.

Other awards went to: Ryan Lukens (John Galbreath, academics); Shaun Lane (Ike Kelley, special teams standout); Tyson Gentry (Bo Rein, most inspirational); Kurt Coleman (SAE, homecoming game standout); Thaddeus Gibson (Agonis Rick Meyer, Penn State game standout); Rory Nicol (Jim Marshall Warrior).

- Matt Markey

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest