Thursday, Jun 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Township board posts up for grabs

The board of Sylvania Township trustees will have different makeup next year, no matter the outcome of Tuesday's election, because one of the incumbents has decided not to run.

Jim Schwerkoske said the press of his business interests caused him to decide against seeking re-election. One incumbent, Dennis Boyle, trustee chairman, seeks re-election and six other township residents are also candidates for the two open seats on the township boad.

The challengers are Kevin Haddad, a small business owner; Pam Hanley, a real estate agent; John Jennewine, a district manager for an insurance company; DeeDee Liedle, an attorney and certified public accountant; R. Jeffrey Lydy, an attorney and former member of the Sylvania Board of Education, and developer Dick Moses, an ex-township trustee.

In Springfield Township, five candidates seek two seats. Bob Bethel, employee relations manager at St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center, seeks re-election as does Marylin Yoder. Challengers are Kevin Cummings, Henry Schuster, and Thomas Anderson, a retiree who is a write-in candidate.

Waterville Township has five candidates for two posts on the board of township trustees. Incumbent Timothy Pedro is joined by Tony Urbas, Lynne Myerholtz, Brett Warner, and Kyle Hertzfeld.

Perrysburg Township voters have four candidates running for two trustee positions. Incumbents Barb Gunn and Bob Mack seek second four-year terms and are challenged by Gary Britten and Cindy Patterson.

In Washington Township, two incumbents and two others are running for two trustee seats. Barbara Shaheen, trustee chairman, and Denise Rex seek re-election. Also running are Linda Vaughn and George Plasencio.

In Monclova Township, two trustees are running for re-election, and Gary Kuns, a trustee for 20 years who was defeated two years ago is again seeking a seat on the board. Incumbents Keith Trettin and Brian Craig seek to retain their positions.

In Richfield Township, eight residents are running for two positions of township trustee.

Running for election are Gregory Bettinger, Steve Bettinger, Scott Good, Tom Huff, Michael Morrin, Arthur Nevers, Ron Smith, and Karen Winn.

Five candidates will be on the ballot for Spencer Township trustee. Each is running for one of two spots. Candidates are Michael Hood, Bob Klumm, Curtis Lancaster, Jodi Staton, and Michael Varanese.

In Jerusalem Township, Incumbent Joseph Gray is seeking re-election and three others are running for the two posts on the board. The others running for a four-year term are Rodney Graffis, Marvin Bill Hoops, and James Wolfe.

In Swanton Township, five candidates are running for two seats on the board of trustees. They are Sandy Komisarek, Dennis Tippie, Jim Irmen, Edward Snyder, and John Warkentin.

Two residents are challenging incumbents in the race for Providence Township trustee.

Neil Hefflinger has served more than 15 years and Greg Ludwig is running for his fourth term. Challengers are Lance Martin, an ex-police chief in Waterville and Walbridge, and Steve Kendall, head of the zoning commission.

In Lake Township, voters will choose from four candidates, two of whom are incumbents, to fill two seats on the board of trustees. Incumbents Ron Sims and Richard Welling are challenged by Michael Adkins and Glenn Bowman, Jr.

Two Grand Rapids Township trustees are being challenged by Les Heyman and George Limes. Also running are Eric Flora and George Foos.

Three seek two seats on the Harding Township board of trustees. Seeking four-year terms are Kristene Ragan, Milton Keener, and Doyle Drennan.

Contact Mike Jones at: or 419-724-6096.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…