Lucas County Board of Elections members vote to keep DeGidio on board


Members of the Lucas County Board of Elections voted 2-1 today not to remove member Tony DeGidio, a Republican, from the board.

Democratic members John Irish and Ron Rothenbuhler voted not to remove Mr. DeGidio over an issue of residency. Board member Jon Stainbrook, a Republican, voted in support of the removal.

The board had set a residency hearing for today to determine if Mr. DeGidio is validly registered to vote in Lucas County.

John Marshall, the 2012 unsuccessful Republican opponent of Democratic County Commissioner Pete Gerken, claimed in a challenge that Mr. DeGidio lives in Youngstown rather than the Sylvania Township address he claims in his challenge.