Friday, November 27, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 12/15/2013 - Updated: 1 year ago

How they voted

A look at recent congressional and Ohio legislative actions and how lawmakers representing the area voted.



H.J. Res. 59: continuing appropriations resolution, 2014.

Sponsor: Rep. Harold Rogers (R., Ky.).

Vote: Passed on Thursday, 332-94, with seven members not voting.

Area lawmakers: Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D., Toledo), yes; Rep. Bob Latta (R., Bowling Green), yes; Rep. Jim Jordan (R., Urbana, Ohio), no; Rep. Tim Walberg (R., Tipton, Mich.), yes.



S.B. 23: to ease restrictions on access to state birth records by those adopted between 1964 and 1996.

Sponsors: Sen. Bill Beagle (R., Tipp City) and Sen. David Burke (R., Marysville).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 91-2.

Area representatives: Rep. Teresa Fedor (D., Toledo), yes; Rep. Mike Sheehy (D., Oregon), yes; Rep. Michael Ashford (D., Toledo), yes; Rep. Tim Brown (R., Bowling Green), yes; Rep. Chris Redfern (D., Catawba Island), yes; Rep. Rex Damschroder (R., Fremont), yes; Rep. Lynn Wachtmann (R., Napoleon), yes; Robert Sprague (R., Findlay), yes; Tony Burkley (R., Payne), yes; Jeff McClain (R., Upper Sandusky), yes; Rep. Barbara Sears (R., Monclova Township), did not vote.

S.B. 200: to require the secretary of state to cross-reference the voter registration database with other state and national databases and to change the formula to reduce the mandated minimum number of electronic voting machines.

Sponsor: Sen. Joe Uecker (R., Loveland).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 60-33.

Area representatives: Ms. Fedor, no; Mr. Sheehy, no; Mr. Ashford, no; Mr. Brown, yes; Mr. Redfern, no; Mr. Damschroder, yes; Mr. Wachtmann, yes; Mr. Sprague, yes; Mr. Burkley, yes; Mr. McClain, yes; Ms. Sears, did not vote.

H.B. 274: to increase penalties for abuse of a companion animal.

Sponsors: Rep. Bill Patmon (D., Cleveland) and Rep. Barbara Sears (R., Monclova Township).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 84-8.

Area representatives: Ms. Fedor, yes; Mr. Sheehy, yes; Mr. Ashford, yes; Mr. Brown, yes; Mr. Redfern, yes; Mr. Damschroder, yes; Mr. Wachtmann, no; Mr. Sprague, yes; Mr. Burkley, yes; Mr. McClain, yes; Ms. Sears, did not vote.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories