Delta cruises to D-III district title

Panthers win D-III district title at BGSU with ease


BOWLING GREEN — Delta made short work of the competition at the Divison III district wrestling tournament Saturday at Bowling Green’s Stroh Center, posting 280.5 points to easily top runner-up Norwalk St. Paul (94.5).

The victorious Panthers had five individual champions and will be sending 12 of its wrestlers to the state tournament, which begins Thursday at Schottenstein Center in Columbus.

Genoa edged Archbold for third in the team standings, 89.5 points to 89.

Winning individual titles for Delta were freshman Drew Mattin at 106 pounds (46-2 season record), unbeaten sophomore Jake Spiess (113 pounds, 45-0), freshman Jesse Beverly (152, 45-6), senior Tyler Fahrer (160, 49-1), and junior Ryan Patchin (182, 26-3).

The Panthers also had four runners-up — Kyle Keller (120), Noah Mattin (126), Dustin Marteney (132), and Chance Veller (285).

Qualifying for state as fourth-place finishers for Delta were Todd Miller (170), Mark Francis (195), and Devon Richards (220).

Archbold’s lone champion was senior 138-pounder Kenny Price (46-11).

Northwood junior Devon Dunbar (36-8) captured the title at 126 pounds, Elmwood senior Jacob Wise (37-1) took the 170-pound crown, and Fremont St. Joseph senior Corey Durbin (36-1) claimed the 285-pound championship.

Genoa’s top placers were Damian D’Emilio (106) and Jay Nino (220), who each took third in their weight classes. The Comets will send five wrestlers to state.

Archbold has qualified four wrestlers to state.

The meet’s other individual champions were Major Moore (132) and Moises Lopez (195) of Willard, Devon Taylor (145) of Margaretta, Evan Cheek (120) of Edison, and Camron Conaway (220) of South Central.

Delta, the Northwest Ohio Athletic League champion, finished second in the team standings at the 2013 Division III individual state tournament, and has won the first two D-III state team dual championships.


3 from area win D-I titles

CLEVELAND — Three area individuals won titles at the Division I district at Cleveland State .

J.P. Newton of Perrysburg won at 152 pounds, Matt Stencel of Clay took the title at 182, and Trey Grine of Fremont Ross took the 145 title.

Newton defeated Ben Darmstadt of Elyria by pin at 3:43.

Stencel beat Gabe Dzuro of Lakewood St. Edward by an 8-6 decision.

Grine won 17-1, a technical fall over Mike Decesare of Nordonia.

Brecksville won the team crown with 212 points, while Perrysburg (166) finished in third and Clay (128.5) fifth.

Perrysburg's Kadin Llewellyn (195) and Cale Bonner (285) placed second, while Mario Guillen (113) and Rocco Caywood (182) earned third place finishes. Also earning fourth place finishes for the Yellow Jackets were Moises Guillen (120), Dan Waltermeyer (160), and Mark Delas (220).

Clay got second place finishes from Jared Davis (126) and Gavin Nelson (138), while Richie Screptock (132) and Nick Stencel (160) placed third.

Findlay's Justin Jolliff (126) and Springfield's Ross Lonsway (195) finished fourth.

The top four finishers in each weight class advance to the state tournament.