Loading…
Thursday, December 25, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
HomeNewsState
Published: Sunday, 6/30/2013

Ohio cuts fees for late auto registration

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles reduces fee for late car registrations, extends grace period

ASSOCIATED PRESS

COLUMBUS — Ohio is easing the penalties for failing to register vehicles with the state on time.

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles says the fee for a late renewal is being cut from $20 to $10 starting Monday. The grace period for the fee will be extended from seven days to 30 days.

Registrations generally expire on owners’ birthdays. Renewals can be completed online or at deputy registrars’ offices up to 90 days before expiration. Motorists can face fines for driving with an expired registration.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories









Poll