Sunday, Jun 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


How they voted: 5-25

A look at recent legislative actions and how area lawmakers voted.


H.B. 483: to accelerate already approved income tax cuts, expand a tax break for small businesses, and declare college athletes are not school employees.

Sponsor: Rep. Ron Amstutz (R., Wooster).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 24-8.

Area senators: Edna Brown (D., Toledo), no; Randy Gardner (R., Bowling Green), yes; Cliff Hite (R., Findlay), yes; David Burke (R., Marysville), yes.

H.B. 289: to prohibit the creation of new joint economic development zones by local governments and place restrictions on existing zones.

Sponsor: Rep. Kurt Schuring (R., Canton).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 30-2.

Area senators: Ms. Brown, yes; Mr. Gardner, yes; Mr. Hite, yes; Mr. Burke, yes

H.B. 487: to delay penalties for schools and educators connected to early report card results as schools implement Common Core standards.

Sponsor: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R., Powell).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 27-5.

Area senators: Ms. Brown, yes; Mr. Gardner, yes; Mr. Hite, yes; Mr. Burke, yes.



H.B. 198: to allow property owners to opt out of a tax increment financing district focused on completion of an infrastructure project.

Sponsors: Rep. Jim Butler (R., Dayton) and Rep. Tony Burkley (R., Payne).

Vote: Passed on Wednesday, 83-11.

Area representatives: Teresa Fedor (D., Toledo), no; Mike Sheehy (D., Oregon), no; Michael Ashford (D., Toledo), no; Barbara Sears (R., Monclova Township), yes; Tim Brown (R., Bowling Green), yes; Chris Redfern (D., Catawba Island), no; Rex Damschroder (R., Fremont), yes; Lynn Wachtmann (R., Napoleon), yes; Robert Sprague (R., Findlay), yes; Tony Burkley (R., Payne), yes; Jeff McClain (R., Upper Sandusky), yes.



H.R. 3361: to amend the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (FISA) to establish a new process when the FBI seeks a FISA court order.

Sponsor: Rep. James Sensenbrenner (R., Wis.).

Vote: Passed on Thursday, 303-121, with seven members not voting.

Area representatives: Miss Kaptur, no; Mr. Latta, yes; Mr. Jordan, no; Mr. Walberg, yes.

SOURCES: Blade Columbus Bureau, Library of Congress,

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…