Monday, May 28, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Taylor 2nd in MAC offensive balloting

Toledo tailback Chester Taylor came in second in the voting for Mid-American Conference offensive player of the year, the league announced yesterday. Western Michigan tailback Robert Sanford won the award, which is chosen by the MAC Newsmedia Association. Sanford had 33 votes to Taylor's 16.

Taylor is ninth in the nation in rushing with an average of 133.6 yards per game, and seventh in scoring with 19 touchdowns. A Doak Walker Award nominee for the nation's top running back, Taylor gained 1,470 yards, becoming just the second Rocket to ever gain over 1,000 yards in two seasons. He is now No. 2 in career rushing at Toledo with 3,229 yards.

2000 MAC Offensive Player of Year Player (Votes)

Robert Sanford, TB, WMU, 33

Chester Taylor, TB, Toledo, 16

Justin McCareins, WR, NIU, 7

Byron Leftwich, QB, Marshall, 2

Ryan Diem, OL, NIU, 1

Brandon Payne, TB, Akron, 1

Walter Church, QB, EMU, 1

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…