Wednesday, May 23, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


UT kicker Detmer named MAC special teams player of the year

4 Rockets, 3 Falcons are selected to first team

  • s5detmer-1


  • SPT-utfb7p-9





University of Toledo kicker Jeremiah Detmer took one of the Mid-American Conference’s top awards Wednesday as four Rockets were named to the All-MAC football first team.

Bowling Green, champion of the MAC East, had three players selected to the first team.

Nearly automatic kicking field goals, Detmer was named the MAC special teams player of the year.

Detmer, a junior, who has converted 19 of 20 field-goal attempts.

The Hilliard, Ohio, native has made 36 of 37 tries dating to last season, missing only in the Sept. 14 game against Eastern Washington after earlier tying the school record of 23 consecutive makes.

Detmer joins returner Eric Page (2010) and kicker Jason Robbins (2005) as Rockets to attain the award.

Detmer, who also made 44 of 45 PATs this season, was among 11 Rockets named to the All-MAC. BG had 10.

Joining Detmer on the first team from UT were running back David Fluellen, defensive end Jayrone Elliott, and linebacker Junior Sylvestre.

Making the second team were offensive linemen Greg Mancz and Zac Kerin, and receiver Bernard Reedy.

Third-team selections were quarterback Terrance Owens, guard Jeff Myers, receiver Alonzo Russell, and defensive tackle Treyvon Hester.

Bowling Green’s first-team picks were offensive linemen Chief Kekuewa and Dominic Flewellyn, and defensive back BooBoo Gates.

Second-team honorees for the Falcons were offensive lineman Alex Huettel, running back Travis Greene, linebackers D.J. Lynch and Gabe Martin, defensive lineman Ted Ouellet, and punt returner Ryan Burbrink.

Tight end Alex Bayer made third team.

Miami linebacker Kent Kern, a St. John’s Jesuit graduate, made second team.

Other award winner were Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch (Vern Smith Leadership and offensive player of the year); NIU’s Rod Carey (coach); Buffalo linebacker Khalil Mack (defensive); and Western Michigan receiver Corey Davis (freshman).

Ballots for awards were due Nov. 26, prior to each team's regular-season finale.

Northern Illinois led the league with six first-team selections, followed by Buffalo with five and Ball State and Toledo with four. Overall, Ball State led with 15 honorees, followed by Toledo with 11. Northern Illinois joined BG with 10.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…