6 will be inducted into Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame


The University of Toledo Varsity “T” Hall of Fame announced its 2014 inductees. Included in the Class of 2014 are six former student-athletes: Brian Engel (men’s tennis, 1969-73), John Greco (football, 2004-07), Justin Ingram (men’s basketball 2003-07), Megan McKinley-Deal (women’s swimming & diving, 2004-08), Jalen Parmele (football, 2004-07), and Casey Shaw (men’s basketball, 1995-98).

The 2014 class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the induction banquet on Feb. 22 at Savage Arena. Social hour for the event begins at 6 p.m. and dinner will follow at 7 p.m.

Also at the banquet, the Varsity “T” Hall of Fame will present the Distinguished Service Award to longtime radio voice of the Rockets Mark Beier.

The 2014 Varsity “T” Hall of Fame class will also be introduced at halftime of the men’s and women’s basketball games on Sunday, Feb. 23. The women play Western Michigan at 2 p.m. while the men host Ball State at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the Varsity “T” Hall of Fame induction dinner can be purchased by calling the Athletic Development Office at 419-530-5087. Tickets for Rocket basketball games can be purchased at the UT Athletic Ticket Office or by calling (419) 530-GOLD.

Reedy, Kerin to play in East-West game

Toledo seniors Bernard Reedy and Zac Kerin have been invited to play in the 2014 East-West Shrine Game at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., on Jan. 18. Reedy, a second-team All-MAC selection at wide receiver in 2013, led the Rockets with 62 receptions and 840 receiving yards. Kerin, also a second-team al-league pick at center, led an offensive line that was No. 1 in the nation in fewest sacks (6) in 2013.