Toledo Walleye acquire 4 forwards including ECHL rookie of the year


The Toledo Walleye have acquired four forwards, including the ECHL's rookie of the year, and a defenseman to complete a number of transactions the team made at the end of last season.

Forwards William Rapuzzi, A.J. Jenks, Trevor Bruess, and Mike Seidel have been sent to Toledo along with defenseman Corey Fienhage.

Rapuzzi was the ECHL's rookie of the year last season. He collected 58 points with 16 goals and 42 assists in 60 games with Idaho.

Jenks appeared in 41 games last season with Florida where he posted 35 points (18 goals, 17 assists).

Bruess skated in 61 games for the Everblades and had 14 goals to go along with a career-high 23 assists.

Seidel played in 57 games for Evansville and posted 28 points (11 G, 17 A).

Fienhage appeared in 63 games for Orlando and tallied 17 points (2 G, 15 A) in 63 games.

The moves complete trades made in February and March. The Walleye traded Russ Sinkewich, Aaron Bogosian, Aaron Clarke, Mac Carruth, and Nathan Martine in separate deals for future considerations.

Toledo also sent the rights to forward Kyle Bodie to Reading to complete a deal for defenseman Bobby Shea made in October last season.

The Walleye will open next season under new head coach Derek Lalonde at home when they host the Cincinnati Cyclones on Oct. 18.