Friday, August 22, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Tuesday, 6/24/2014 - Updated: 1 month ago

Walleye to face new opponents in ECHL's North Division

ECHL‘‍s re-alignment adds Elmira, Reading, Wheeling


The Toledo Walleye will remain in the ECHL North Division this upcoming season but the team will have three new opponents in its division.

The ECHL's board of governors on Tuesday announced a divisional re-alignment for the 2014-15 season.

Toledo will stay in the North Division of the Eastern Conference. But Elmira, Reading, and Wheeling will join the Walleye along with fellow current member Cincinnati.

Toledo's former North Division rivals Kalamazoo, Fort Wayne, and Evansville have been moved to the Western Conference. Those three teams are now in the Midwest Division along with Colorado and the new expansion franchise in Indianapolis.

Toledo will play Cincinnati and Wheeling seven times. The Walleye will play Reading five times, including three on the road. They will play Elmira in six games, including four on the road.

The Walleye will open next season at home when they host the Cincinnati Cyclones on Saturday, Oct. 18.

Toledo's first road game of the year is on Oct. 24 at the ECHL’s newest member, the Indianapolis Fuel.

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories