OSU, UM add newcomers to Big Ten schedule in 2014


The Big Ten on Thursday released its conference football schedules for 2014, and about all that looks familiar is the game on the last Saturday of the season.

Ohio State will host Michigan on Nov. 29.

The rest of the schedule? Welcome to the new Big Ten.

As the league balloons to 14 teams with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers, Ohio State in 2014 will not play a team from the original Big Ten until November, while Michigan will make a second straight trip to Michigan State for the first time in series history.

The Buckeyes open conference play Oct. 4 at Maryland, then have their second bye of the year before playing seven straight Saturdays to close the regular season. OSU will play Rutgers in its Big Ten home opener on Oct. 18, visit Penn State on Oct. 25, host Illinois on Nov. 1, and close the season with consecutive trips to Michigan State and Minnesota before home dates against Indiana and Michigan.

The Wolverines open their 2014 conference schedule Sept. 27 against Minnesota at Michigan Stadium, then play Oct. 4 at Rutgers. Michigan’s other Big Ten home opponents are Penn State (Oct. 11), Indiana (Nov. 1), and Maryland (Nov. 22).

A scheduling quirk caused by expansion has Michigan at Michigan State on Oct. 25, meaning the Wolverines will play their three biggest rivals — along with Ohio State and Notre Dame — on the road. They also visit East Lansing this November.

Beginning in 2014, the league will realign into two seven-team divisions, with Ohio State, Michigan, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan State, Penn State, and Rutgers in the Big Ten East. Schools will continue to play eight conference games through 2015 and move to a nine-game league schedule in 2016.