Saturday, Jul 23, 2016
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Miller, Hyde take top honors

Mewhort among 10 All-Big Ten Buckeyes

  • s3braxton

    Ohio State’s Braxton Miller runs past Michigan’s Jibreel Black. Miller was named the Big Ten’s quarterback of the year.

    Buy This Image

  • s3mewhort-1




Ohio State’s Braxton Miller runs past Michigan’s Jibreel Black. Miller was named the Big Ten’s quarterback of the year.

Enlarge | Buy This Image




Braxton Miller and Carlos Hyde took top honors Monday as 10 Ohio State players were named to the All-Big Ten Conference teams.

Jack Mewhort, a St. John’s Jesuit graduate, was among the Buckeyes. He was named to the first team of the media team. The Big Ten announces two all-conference teams — one from a media vote and one by the vote of coaches.

Miller was named the conference’s Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year, and Hyde was named the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year. Both were first-team, all-conference selections as voted by the conference coaches and the media.

Miller, a junior, was 138-of-210 passing for 1,759 yards and 21 touchdowns in 10 games. He ran for 891 yards and eight TDs.

Hyde, a senior, led the Big Ten in rushing with 1,290 yards despite missing three games because of a suspension, and he scored 14 touchdowns.

Michigan had five players named to the all-conference teams, including left tackle Taylor Lewan, who was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year, and Devin Funchess, who was selected the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year.

Lewan was named the conference’s top offensive lineman for the second year in a row.

Other Buckeyes on the first teams were center Corey Linsley, linebacker Ryan Shazier, and defensive back Bradley Roby — all on the media team; Mewhort, wide receiver Corey Brown, guard Andrew Norwell, and defensive linemen Noah Spence and Michael Bennett were second-team selections.

Lewan was Michigan’s only first-team coaches selection. Funchess, receiver Jeremy Gallon, defensive end Frank Clark, and defensive back Blake Countess were second-team selections.

Miller, Hyde, Linsley, Norwell, Mewhort, Spence, Shazier, and Roby were Ohio State’s first-team media selections; Bennett was a second-team selection.

Lewan, Funchess, and Countess were Michigan’s first-team media selections; Gallon was a second-team selection.

The Big Ten’s offensive player of the year, defensive player of the year, coach of the year, and freshman of the year will be announced today.

NO CHANGES IMMINENT: Michigan coach Brady Hoke said Monday that he does not expect changes to his staff in the wake of 3-5 Big Ten record.

Hoke said he anticipates his coaching staff to return, following a 7-5 regular season and Saturday's 42-41 loss to No. 2 Ohio State in Ann Arbor.

Michigan's offense struggled this season, and the Wolverines finished fifth in the six-team Legends Division. The Wolverines on Sunday will learn their bowl game destination.

Contact Rachel Lenzi at:, 419-724-6510, or on Twitter @RLenziBlade.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2015 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…