Sunday, Sep 23, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Third Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame class coming together


The Walleye organization is putting together the third Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame class.

The organization is asking for the public to vote for the members of the latest class.

To be considered for induction into the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame, candidates must be retired from professional hockey as an active player for a period of three full seasons.


Inductees to the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame sign autographs in January of 2016.

Blade/Katie Rausch Enlarge

The third class will be inducted during Toledo Hockey Heritage Weekend before the Walleye game on Saturday, Feb. 24 at the Huntington Center.

“Because pro hockey in Toledo is only possible with the tremendous support of its fans, the Toledo Walleye want them to be part of the selection process by voting for their top five choices,” team officials said in a press release.

A committee of former players, coaches, team historians, and media determined the list of nominees for consideration.

The nominees are:


  • Maurice “Moe” Benoit (Blades)

  • Rick Corriveau (Storm)

  • Gordie Cowan (Mercurys)

  • Mike Eruzione (Goaldiggers)

  • Dave Falkenberg (Goaldiggers)

  • John Gravel (Blades, Hornets)

  • Bill Inglis (Goaldiggers)

  • Jack Kernahan (Mercurys, Buckeyes)

  • Ian MacPhee (Goaldiggers)

  • Roger Maisonneuve (Mercurys)

  • Dino Mascotto (Blades, Hornets)

  • Stan “Chook” Maxwell (Blades, Hornets)

  • Jim McCabe (Goaldiggers)

  • John McGrath (Mercurys, Buckeyes)

  • Chris McSorley (Goaldiggers, Storm)

  • Bill Mitchell (Mercurys, Blades, Hornets)

  • Andy Mulligan (Mercurys, Buckeyes)

  • Barney O’Connell (Mercurys, Buckeyes)

  • Greg Puhalski (Storm)

  • Terry Slater (Blades)

  • Rob Thorpe (Storm)

  • Nick Vitucci (Storm, Walleye)

  • Don Westbrooke (Blades, Goaldiggers)


Voting will take place between Dec. 15 and Dec. 22 at

The members of last year's hall of fame class were William “Chick” Chalmers (Blades and Hornets), Greg Jablonski (Blades and Hornet), Paul Tantardini (Goaldiggers), Dirk Graham (Goaldiggers), and Mark Deazeley (Storm).

The inaugural class members, who were inducted in January, 2016, were Virgil Gladieux, Glenn Ramsay, Ted Garvin, Rick Judson, and Kyle Rogers.

The city's hockey tradition stretches back to the 1940s and includes 11 championships. One member from each of five defined eras was chosen to comprise the inaugural class.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…