Walleye announce 20 players from last season on protected player list


The Toledo Walleye have announced a list of 20 players from last season's roster that the team may elect to offer a contract to this summer.

The team is entitled to reserve the rights to eight players from the list by extending a qualifying offer no later than July 1.

The list of protected players includes 14 forwards: Kyle Rogers, Brett Perlini, Travis Novak, Kyle Gibbons, J.P. Burkemper, Matt Abercrombie, Jesse Messier, Kristoff Kontos, Stephon Thorne, Alden Hirschfeld, William Rapuzzi, Mike Seidel, A.J. Jenks, and Trevor Bruess.

The six defensemen on the list are C.J. Chartrain, Ken Peroff, Tyler Elbrecht, Tyler Hinds, Cody Lampl, and Corey Fienhage.

Of the eight players that are offered contracts, no more than four can be veterans with 260 professional hockey games.

The qualifying offers must remain open until Aug. 1.

The Walleye open next season on Saturday, Oct. 18.