BGSU's Chris Jones wins top defensive award; 6 Rockets on 1st team

Bowling Green's Chris Jones was named the MAC defensive player of the year Wednesday.
Bowling Green's Chris Jones was named the MAC defensive player of the year Wednesday.

Both the University of Toledo and Bowling Green State University were well-represented Wednesday as the Mid-American Conference announced its football honors.

BG’s Chris Jones was named the MAC’s defensive player of the year, while UT had six All-MAC first team picks, more than any other school.

This season Jones leads the MAC in sacks with 12.5 and is second in tackles for loss with 19. He ranks second among all Football Bowl Subdivision leaders in sacks and is tied for seventh nationally in sacks.

Jones became just the fourth Falcon to be named defensive player of the year, joining Vince Palko (1993-94), Phil Villapiano (1971), and Joe Green (1969).

“This was a goal of mine, something I was working for since the end of last season,” Jones said. “To find out that all the hard work — and everything that we have done as a defense — has paid off is pretty cool.”

On the first team for Toledo were center Zac Kerin, a two-time all conference performer; running back David Fluellen, whose 132.7 rushing yards per game ranks second in the MAC; Bernard Reedy, who was honored at receiver (82 catches, 1,051 yards, six TDs) and punt returner (11.4 yards per return); linebacker Dan Molls, who leads the nation with 166 tackles; and safety Jermaine Robinson, the MAC co-leader with four interceptions.

The Falcons had three on the first team, all from its highly regarded defense: Jones at defensive tackle; linebacker Gabe Martin, who leads the team with 69 tackles and added 8.5 tackles for loss; and defensive back BooBoo Gates, who has 44 tackles and a pair of interceptions.

UT’s Reedy also was named second team as a kick returner, as were two Falcons: Offensive tackle Jordon Roussos and punter Brian Schmiedebusch, who averages 41.8 yards per punt this year.

Picked to the third team for Toledo were offensive guard Greg Mancz; receiver Alonzo Russell, who leads all MAC freshmen with 925 receiving yards; kicker Jeremiah Detmer, who has converted 21 of 26 field goals; and cornerback Cheatham Norrils, a St. John's Jesuit product who has record 69 tackles and two interceptions.

The third team selections from Bowling Green were offensive guard Dominic Flewellyn; linebacker Dwayne Woods, a two-time All-MAC pick who has 60 tackles this season; defensive tackle Ted Ouellet, whose 30 tackles include 4.5 tackles per loss; and defensive back Cameron Truss, who has 59 tackles.

Of the nine Rockets honored, only Molls and Robinson are seniors. BG had only three seniors — Jones, Roussos and Woods — among its 10 honorees.

Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch was named MAC offensive player of the year and also won the league’s Vern Smith Leadership Award. Kent State’s Dri Archer was named special teams player of the year while his coach, Darrell Hazell, was named the league’s coach of the year. Western Michigan wide receiver Jaime Wilson was named MAC freshman of the year.

MAC coaches select the all-league team and the Vern Smith award winner, while a panel of media representing the league’s 13 schools votes on the other honors.

VOSS RECOGNIZED: Toledo linebacker Trent Voss earned MAC West division defensive player of the week after collecting 12 tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, an interception, and two passes broken up in a 35-23 win against Akron last week.