St. John’s to begin search for new chief


St. John’s Jesuit High School & Academy has named a nine-member committee to oversee a national search for a president to succeed the Rev. Joaquin O. Martinez, S.J., who will step down in June.

The school’s chairman, Kurt Miller, will serve as search committee chairman. Other committee members will include Vice-Board Chairman Stephen Krull and board members Don Mewhort, Patricia Lyden, and Jane Charette; Ed Heintschel, a faculty member and counselor at St. John’s Jesuit; Cherie Bischoff, the assistant principal of St. John's Jesuit Academy; Matt Couture, the provincial assistant for secondary education in the Chicago-Detroit province, and the Rev. John Libens of the Chicago-Detroit province.

St. John’s would like to hire a Jesuit, but officials said they would consider a lay educator familiar with Jesuit education. The high school has a grades 9-12 program, while the academy enrolls boys in grades 6 through 8.