Central, Bryan dominate all-district teams

Kizer, Schimmoeller joined by 5 teammates apiece on annual picks by AP

  • s6kizer-4


    Buy This Image

  • Kizer

    Two quarterbacks who are set to play in regional playoff finals today have each earned top offensive honors in their respective divisions on the Associated Press all-district football team.


    Central Catholic’s DeShone Kizer, who has committed to play at Notre Dame, is the Division III offensive player of the year after leading the Irish (12-0) to a Three Rivers Athletic Conference title and a regional final meeting today against Clyde at Bowling Green.

    Bryan senior Austin Schimmoeller, who has led the Golden Bears to back-to-back 10-0 regular seasons and Northwest Ohio Athletic League titles, is the Division IV offensive player of the year. His second-ranked Bears (12-0) meet top-ranked Kenton in today’s regional final at Findlay.

    During the regular season, Kizer was 108-of-174 passing for 2,106 yards and 23 touchdowns and rushed for 362 yards and five TDs. He led Central last year to a 14-1 season and a Division II state championship.

    Schimmoeller was 120-of-185 passing for 1,968 yards and 26 TDs and ran for 523 yards and 12 TDs.

    Joining Kizer on the D-III first team are five Irish teammates — receiver Jermiah Braswell, offensive lineman Ramone Miles, defensive lineman J’Quan Fisher, linebacker Chris Green, and defensive back Derich Weiland.

    Other area players on the D-III first team are Napoleon tight end Zach Fielder and linebacker Bryant Schlade.

    In Division II, Southview defensive back Nate Hall, who has committed to Northwestern, was named the defensive player of the year. He is joined on the first team by his teammate, defensive lineman Ryan Stout.

    The D-II first team includes four members of Perrysburg’s Northern Lakes League championship team — offensive lineman Cale Bonner, quarterback Gus Dimmerling, linebacker Mark Delas, and defensive back Matt Mesker.

    St. Francis de Sales also had four first-teamers in D-II — offensive lineman Tyler Knitz, running back Lamar Carswell, defensive lineman John Fudacz, and linebacker Zach Uram.

    The D-II first-teamers from City League champion Bowsher are offensive lineman Justus Satterfield, linebacker Mark Washington, and defensive back Kolton Davis.

    Others on the D-II first team include Clay receiver Kyle Row and Anthony Wayne punter Jake Hartbarger.

    With only two Division I schools in northwest Ohio, only four all-district selections were made: Whitmer receiver Chris Boykin and defensive back Marcus Elliott, plus Findlay receiver Nick Kairys and place kicker Grant McKinniss.

    The Division IV first team includes five of Schimmoeller’s Bryan teammates and six players from Northern Buckeye Conference champion Genoa.

    The Bryan contingent includes offensive lineman Zach Phillips, running back Daniel Pendergrast, defensive lineman Jerad Carroll, linebacker Jake Jones, and defensive back Brandon Poncsak.

    The Genoa first-team selections are highlighted by D-IV lineman of the year Michael Deiter, who has committed to Wisconsin. Joining Deiter are teammates Quentin Spiess at tight end, running back David Nutter, place kicker Cody Pickard, defensive lineman Blake Traver, and defensive back Alex Hayes.

    Also on the D-IV first team are Lake receiver Adam Duncan, linebacker Nick Walsh, and defensive back Jared Rettig. The Flyers’ Mark Emans was named D-IV coach of the year.

    Rounding out the area D-IV first-team selections are Wauseon offensive lineman Cesar Juarez, running back Axel Bueter, and linebacker Aaron Schuette.

    In Division V, Liberty Center’s Nick Demaline was named lineman of the year. He was joined on the first team by running back teammate Anthony Righi, and the Tigers’ Rex Lingruen shared coach of the year honors with Tim Nichols of Liberty-Benton.

    Liberty-Benton had five first-team selections — receiver Chase Cook, offensive lineman Cody Cornwell, running back Austin Combs, place kicker Casey Fowler, and defensive lineman Brandon May.

    Eastwood had three first-teamers in D-V — offensive lineman Jacob Rahe, defensive lineman Michael Glaze, and linebacker Grant Geiser.

    Others on the D-V first team include Archbold receiver Jase Grosjean, quarterback Evan Wyse, and defensive back Lincoln Parsley.

    Division VI defensive player of the year Colt Pettit, who has committed to Virginia Tech, is one of three Patrick Henry players on the first team, joined by Patriots running back Tobey Hernandez and linebacker Logan Ziegler.

    Toledo Area Athletic Conference champ Northwood had two first-team selections in D-VI with running back Dominik Bermejo and place kicker Jacob Vickers.

    In Division VII, McComb had three first-team selections with receiver Clay Dysert, offensive lineman Andrew Nauth, and defensive back Mitch Schroeder.

    Fremont St. Joseph also had three named to the first team — Corey Durbin, who was named lineman of the year, and linebacker Bennett Weickert and defensive back Jake Yeckley.

    — Steve Junga