Notre Dame’s Floyd picked All-Ohio in Division I

Smith of Rogers shares coach-of-the-year honors in Division II

  • s3floyd


  • Floyd

    The Notre Dame junior duo of Tierra Floyd and Kaayla McIntyre received first and second-team Division I honors, respectively, and Rogers’ Lamar Smith shared top coaching honors in Division II on the Associated Press All-Ohio girls basketball teams released Monday.


    Perrysburg senior Sarah Baer was picked to the Division I second team, while Whitmer senior Keshyra McCarver was named to the third team.

    Included on the Division II second team was Rogers senior Sasha Dailey, and named to the third team was Wauseon junior Natalie Koenig.

    Smith shared the D-II coach of the year honor with Gerry Lackey of Cincinnati Wyoming and Brittany Anderson of Chagrin Falls.

    Floyd, a 6-foot-2 wing, averaged 18.3 points, 6.2 rebounds, and 4.5 assists per game in the regular season for the Eagles, who were ranked seventh and won their third straight Three Rivers Athletic Conference championship.

    Lima Senior’s Indiya Benjamin (20.1 points), the TRAC player of the year, joined Floyd on the D-I first team.

    McIntyre, a 6-2 forward, averaged 12.7 points and 10.2 rebounds for Notre Dame, which will play top-ranked Cincinnati Princeton (26-2) in the state semifinals on Friday in Columbus. This is Notre Dame’s third straight trip to state.

    Princeton’s Kelsey Mitchell, a 5-8 senior guard who averaged 24.9 points per game, was named Division I player of the year. Her coach, Princeton’s Jill Phillips, shared D-I coach of the year honors with Abbey Allerding of North Canton Hoover and Kevin Braaten of Berea-Midpark.

    Baer, a 6-1 forward who averaged 17.1 points and 11.6 rebounds for the sixth-ranked Yellow Jackets, who won the Northern Lakes League title for the third straight season.

    McCarver, a 5-10 forward, averaged 14.0 points and 9.1 rebounds for the Panthers. She was a first-team All-Ohio selection last season, when she was named TRAC and district player of the year.

    Dailey, a 5-8 senior guard, is a fourth-year starter for coach Smith’s Rams, who will be making Rogers’ first appearance in a girls state semifinal Thursday against second-ranked Kettering Alter (28-0). Dailey averaged 10.6 points and 4.4 rebounds.

    Koenig, a 5-8 guard, averaged 15.4 points for the Indians.

    Clyde senior Amanda Cahill shared the D-II player of the year honor with Laina Snyder of top-ranked Millersburg West Holmes.

    Honorable mention recognition went to Southview’s Taryn Stanley and Springfield’s Natalie Yoder in D-I.

    In D-II, Port Clinton’s Tiffany Colston made special mention, and honorable mention recognition went to sophomores Akienreh Johnson of Rogers and Byrdy Galernik of Central Catholic, and to Bryan junior Hannah Schimmoeller.

    — Steve Junga