Start boys, Rogers girls get 1st City League titles; Bowsher’s Heck, Woodward’s Childress individual champs

The start of the City League boys cross country race Saturday at Collins Park Golf Course.
The start of the City League boys cross country race Saturday at Collins Park Golf Course.

The Start boys and Rogers girls each won their first City League cross country team championship on Saturday at Collins Park.

Start posted 32 points to top runner-up Bowsher (43). The Rogers girls totaled 40 points to best second-place Bowsher (53).

PHOTO GALLERY: City League Championships

Start’s Spartans were led to their boys title by Nate Kinor, who placed second (17:21.35) individually, and Robert Howard (17:35.51), who took third.

The boys individual champion was Tom Heck of Bowsher, who covered the 5,000-meter course in 16:45.60, well ahead of the field.

Also scoring for Start were Jonathan Luna, Ethan Pennywitt, and Matthew Meyers, who came in eighth, ninth, and 10th place, respectively.

Rogers’ Jasmyne Smith took third (22:34.40) in the girls’ race to pace the winning Rams.

The girls individual champion was Tymeshia Childress of Woodward, who posted a 22:07.11. Rogers’ other scoring runners were Kristen Fink (sixth place), Akienrah Johnson (eighth), Becca Lustic (11th), and Ashley Miller (12th).

Northview repeats sweep in NLL

The Northview boys and girls each came in as defending team champions in Northern Lakes League cross country, and both Wildcats teams left as repeat champions on Saturday at Anthony Wayne.

PHOTO GALLERY: NLL Championships

Led by individual champion Kyle Brooks (16:01.2), the Northview boys placed their top five runners among the top nine spots to post 23 points, easily topping runner-up Perrysburg (67).

Joining Brooks in the top nine were Jarred Noe (third), Tyler Rayoum (fourth), Chris McKown (sixth), and Haden Aldrich (ninth). The Wildcat girls placed three runners in the top four spots, led by individual champion Janelle Noe (18:08.4) and runner-up Robin Foster (18:51.7). Northview scored 35 points to beat second-place Napoleon (67).

Mallory Small placed fourth for Northview, Abigail Masters was ninth, and Rachel Audet was 19th to complete the scoring.

Knights, Eagles repeat in TRAC

FINDLAY — The St. Francis de Sales boys and Notre Dame girls each defended their titles in the Three Rivers Athletic Conference cross country meet at Sycamore Springs Golf Course.

The Knights, paced by individual champion Kyle Lach (15:27.71), scored 34 points to cruise past runner-up Findlay (75). Lach was also the 2011 TRAC champion. He was joined in the scoring by Knight teammates David St. John (fourth), Dan Siebenaller (eighth), Dan Lenart (ninth), and Jason White (12th).

Notre Dame had a much tougher time defending its girls team title, posting 47 points to edge second-place Clay (49).

Clay boasted the individual champion, with Erin Gyurke covering the course in 18:06.68, nearly 15 seconds ahead of runner-up Stephanie Sherman of Notre Dame. Also scoring for Notre Dame’s Eagles were Lindsey Myers (eighth), Cortney Haubert (ninth), Sydney Sherman (12th), and Samantha Hill (16th).

Otsego, Eastwood prevail in NBC

BETTSVILLE — The Eastwood girls repeated their Northern Buckeye Conference cross country team title, and Otsego dethroned 2011 winner Elmwood to claim the boys championship at H.P. Eells Park.

Otsego, which scored 45 points to win comfortably over runner-up Elmwood (71), was led by individual boys champion Brandon Avers (16:21.28).

Also scoring for the Knights were Jordy Ghesquiere (fifth), Derek Morgan (10th), Caleb Baus (12th), and Garry Armstrong (17th).

In repeating their girls title, Eastwood’s Eagles were led by individual champion Maddie Jackson (19:39.01), who also won the 2011 NBC race.

Jackson got point-scoring help from Lexi Clark (fourth), Meagan Kaminski (fifth), Miranda Wagner (sixth), and McKayla Phillips (13th).

Toledo Christian reigns in TAAC

Toledo Christian’s boys and girls each repeated their Toledo Area Athletic Conference cross country team championships at Maumee Bay State Park.

The Eagle boys posted 37 points to top second-place Cardinal Stritch (55). They got a first-place finish from Daniel Burkett (17:13.67), and additional scoring came from Kevin Loeffler (third), Aaron Dunn (seventh), Nathan Yoshino (12th), and Josh Yeager (14th).

Toledo Christian’s girls title was keyed by the family Phelps. Delainey Phelps (20:44.0) repeated her individual TAAC title, Kavanaugh Phelps was second, and Tavish Phelps was ninth. The other Eagle scorers were Chloe Wotring (fifth) and Rachel Schilling (11th).

Liberty Center, Bryan victorious

DELTA — The Liberty Center girls, defending Division III state champions, repeated their Northwest Ohio Athletic League cross country title at Delta High School.

The Tigers were led by sophomore Brittany Atkinson, the 2011 NWOAL and state individual champion. Atkinson placed first in 18:18, and Liberty Center, which scored 20 points to best runner-up Wauseon (35), got the rest of its scoring from Kelly Haubert (third), Olivia Kundo (fourth), Paige Chamberlain (fifth), and Rachel Pinson (seventh).

In the boys race, Bryan dethroned 2011 boys champion Archbold, scoring 57 points to edge runner-up Delta by six.

Wauseon’s Quintin Reiser (16:17) was the individual winner, and Bryan’s top placer was Jacob Will (sixth place, 16:51). The Golden Bears also got points from Evan Morr (eighth), Sheldon Struble (12th), Brandon Krupp (15th), and Michael Sheridan (18th).