Genoa wins NBC wrestling championship

5 individual titles lift Delta to NWOAL crown


ELMORE — Genoa captured four individual titles en route to claiming the Northern Buckeye Conference wrestling tournament championship Saturday at Woodmore.

Max Reeder (132 pounds), Drew Keenan (145), Ryan Szymanski (160), and Jay Nino (220) all won titles for the Comets.

Genoa finished with 38 points, followed by Eastwood (33), Lake (23), Elmwood (16), Otsego (15), Rossford (14), Woodmore (12), and Fostoria (3). The league championship is determined by the results from league dual meets and the league tournament.

Eastwood got titles from Adrew Caris (126), Brad Radabaugh (152), Randy Caris (170), Kyle Patterson (182), and Adam Wolf (195) as the Eagles finished second in the tournament and overall league results.

Lake’s Chris Salaz (138) and Jacob Hankish (285) were champions. Others winning titles were Woodmore’s Evan Ulinski (106) and Thomas Schnittker (113) and Otsego’s Buddy Limes (120).

Delta wins NWOAL

DELTA — Five Delta wrestlers claimed titles to lead the Panthers to a Northwest Ohio Athletic League tournament championship.

Jake Spiess (113), Kyle Keller (120), Dustin Marteney (132), Jared Mattin (160), and Mark Francis (195) won championships for Delta, which finished with 230 points.

Wauseon was second with 187.5 points, followed by Archbold 187, Bryan 138, Swanton 109.5, Liberty Center 87.5, Evergreen 57, Patrick Henry 45, Montpelier 44.5.

Wauseon’s Wade Hodges (126) and Zane Krall (220) won titles.

Archbold had two champions — Justin Arce (106) and Logan Day (138). Bryan also had two with Shelden Struble (145) and Wes Walter (152).

Evergreen’s Ryan Patchin (170), Patrick Henry's Galen Powers (182) and Swanton's Chance Vellor (285) won titles.