TAAC considers expansion


Officials from the Toledo Area Athletic Conference are pursuing the possibility of expanding.

The league's athletic directors voted Wednesday to explore the possibility of adding six schools that would give the league 12 teams in football and 14 in basketball.

League officials are pursuing negotiations with Fremont St. Joesph Central Catholic, Lakota, Old Fort, New Riegel, Tiffin Calvert, and Sandusky St. Mary.

Those schools are expected to rule on the invitation early next week.

The six schools had requested to join the TAAC beginning in 2014-15.

The current TAAC members are Cardinal Stritch, Danbury, Edon, Emmanuel Christian, Gibsonburg, Hilltop, Maumee Valley, Northwood, Ottawa Hills, and Toledo Christian.

Edon and Hilltop are football-only members.

Fremont St. Joseph, Lakota, Tiffin Calvert, and Sandusky St. Mary would become full-fledged TAAC members in all sports, including football and basketball.

Old Fort and New Riegel will join in all sports other than football. Those schools do not have football programs.

Current TAAC members Maumee Valley and Emmanuel Christian also do not have football programs.