Eastwood wins indoor track title


The Eastwood boys track and field team jump-started its spring season by capturing a state indoor championship Saturday.

The Eagles took home the team title at the Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches Indoor state championships at the University of Akron.

The Eagles edged out Warren Kennedy 36-33 for the Division II-III title.

Sophomore Devin Snowden finished second in the triple jump (42 feet, 10½ inches) and third in the long jump (21-9½).

Senior Derek Snowden was fourth (41-¼) in triple jump, and Jake Hoodlebrink was fifth (20-9½) in the long jump.

The Eagles 1600-meter relay team of Isaiah Conkle, Blake Kohring, Brennan Seifert, and Devin Snowden finished third. The 800 relay team of Devin Snowden, John Rogers, Brent Schlumbohm, and Conkle was fourth.

Senior Blake Kohring placed seventh in the 60-meter hurdles.

Also in the boys Division II-III meet, Liberty-Benton’s Dylan Cornwell took first in the pole vault (14-9). L-B’s Brian Miller placed fourth in the high jump (6-4).

Rossford senior Ryan Clay took third in the 800 at 1 minute, 57.98 seconds. Otsego sophomore Brandon Avers placed fourth in the 1600 (4:31.43).

In the shot put, Liberty Center’s Nick Demaline was fifth and Genoa’s Logan Bryer sixth. Bryer also placed fourth in the weight throw.

In the II-III girls meet, Liberty-Benton finished second as a team.

Freshman Michaela Butler won the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.76.

L-B’s 3200 relay team was seventh, Madi Greiner was eighth in the 1600, and MacKenzie Briggs was eighth in the 800. Megan Peplinski placed eighth in the high jump, while Liz Streaker was third and Alex Devincentis was fifth in the weight throw.

Also in II-III, McComb senior Becca Leppelmeier won the shot put (45-3) and the weight throw (53-7).

Toledo Christian’s Lauren Valigosky was runner-up in the triple jump (33-5¾). Eastwood’s Hannah Firsdon was third, followed by Darin Westmeyer of Toledo Christian.

Gibsonburg’s Colleen Reynolds placed fifth in the 200. Woodmore’s Karli Keaton took fifth in the long jump.

The Archbold 1600 relay team finished fifth.

The Perrysburg and Southview girls teams tied for 11th in Division I.

The Yellow Jackets’ 3200 relay team of Courtney Clody, Taylor Monheim, Jordan Doore, and Emily Wyrick won the title with a time of 9:32.45. Northview was second.

Clody, a junior, placed third in the 1600 (5:16.49).

Southview senior Elizabeth Sares was runner-up in the high jump (5-4) and triple jump (35-2).

Also among the D-I girls, Bowling Green’s Maria Horrigan placed third and Whitmer’s Kaitlyn Barber was sixth in the pole vault. Horrigan also placed sixth in the long jump.

Among D-I boys, Southview junior Malcolm Johnson placed third in the 60-meter dash (6.95). Senior Chad Justus was fifth in the 800.

Whitmer’s Nick Holley and Tyler Szychowski finished seventh and eighth, respectively, in the pole vault.

To qualify for the event, athletes had to be listed on the final top 25 performance list of the OATCCC.

Contact Mark Monroe at: mmonroe@theblade.com, 419-724-6354 or on Twitter @MonroeBlade.