Burke is Big Ten’s best

OSU’s Thomas, Craft named to first team


Michigan guard Trey Burke was named Big Ten basketball player of the year, highlighting a strong showing by UM and Ohio State on the league's all-conference teams released Monday night.

The sophomore star was one of four players from the rival programs voted to the first team by the media and coaches. Burke and OSU junior forward Deshaun Thomas were consensus selections.

Buckeyes’ junior guard Aaron Craft, a Findlay native, was honored by the media while Michigan's Tim Hardaway, Jr., was recognized by the league's coaches.

Craft and OSU guard Shannon Scott, and Michigan forward Jordan Morgan were also named to the league's all-defensive team, as voted by the coaches.

Burke became Michigan's first conference player of the year since Glen Rice in 1989 by averaging a league-high 20.2 points and 6.4 assists during the Big Ten season. Hardaway averaged 14.8 points and 4.7 rebounds.

Thomas was the Big Ten's overall scoring champion with 19.7 points per game. Craft averaged 9.7 points and 4.5 assists, and also became the school's all-time steals leader. He begins the postseason with 231 career swipes.

"Without question the Big Ten was the top conference in the country this year," OSU coach Thad Matta said. "For Deshaun and Aaron to both earn First Team recognition is quite an accomplishment. It's well known that our league is predicated on defense.

"Both Aaron and Shannon are deserving members of the All-Defensive team."

Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan was the consensus choice for coach of the year.

Michigan State's Gary Harris was named freshman of the year.