‘Lincoln’ shatters record with 13 Critics’ Choice nods

Daniel Day-Lewis, center, as President Abraham Lincoln, looks across a battlefield in the aftermath of a terrible siege in this scene from director Steven Spielberg's drama 'Lincoln.'
Daniel Day-Lewis, center, as President Abraham Lincoln, looks across a battlefield in the aftermath of a terrible siege in this scene from director Steven Spielberg's drama 'Lincoln.'

LOS ANGELES — Steven Spielberg’s historical epic Lincoln earned a record-shattering 13 Broadcast Film Critics Association’s Critics’ Choice Movie Award nominations Tuesday morning. Among its nods were best film, best director for Steven Spielberg, best actor for Daniel Day-Lewis, best supporting actress for Sally Field, best supporting actor for Tommy Lee Jones and best acting ensemble.

The lavish musical Les Miserables followed with 11 nominations, while the quirky romantic comedy Silver Linings Playbook scored 10.

Joining Lincoln in the best picture category are Argo, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Life of Pi, The Master, Moonrise Kingdom, Silver Linings Playbook, and Zero Dark Thirty.

Vying with Day-Lewis for best actor are Bradley Cooper for Silver Linings Playbook, John Hawkes for The Sessions, Hugh Jackman for Les Miserables, Joaquin Phoenix for The Master, and Denzel Washington for Flight.

Best actress nominations went to Jessica Chastain for Zero Dark Thirty, Marion Cotillard for Rust and Bone, Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook, Emmanuelle Riva for Amour, Quvenzhane Wallis for Beasts of the Southern Wild, and Naomi Watts for The Impossible.

Joining Jones in the supporting actor category are Alan Arkin for Argo, Javier Bardem for Skyfall, Robert De Niro for Silver Linings Playbook, Philip Seymour Hoffman for The Master, and Matthew McConaughey for Magic Mike.

Besides Field, supporting actress nominations went to Amy Adams for The Master, Judi Dench for Skyfall, Ann Dowd for Compliance, Anne Hathaway for Les Miserables, and Helen Hunt for The Sessions.

For best young actor/actress the nominees are Elle Fanning for Ginger & Rosa, Kara Hayward for Moonrise Kingdom, Tom Holland for The Impossible, Logan Lerman for The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Suraj Sharma for Life of Pi, and Quavenzhane Wallis for Beast of the Southern Wild.

Joining Lincoln in the best acting ensemble category are Argo, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Les Miserables, Moonrise Kingdom, and Silver Linings Playbook.

Competing with Spielberg for best director are Ben Affleck for Argo, Kathryn Bigelow for Zero Dark Thirty, Tom Hooper for Les Miserables, Ang Lee for Life of Pi, and David O. Russell for Silver Linings Playbook.

Nominated for best animated feature are Brave, Frankenweenie, Madagascar 3, ParaNorman, Rise of the Guardians, and Wreck-It-Ralph, while The Avengers, The Dark Knight Rises, Looper, and Skyfall earned best action movie nominations.

Best comedy nominations went to Bernie, Silver Linings Playbook, Ted, This is 40, and 21 Jump Street.

Amour, The Intouchables, A Royal Affair, and Rust and Bone scored best foreign language film nominations, while Bully, The Central Park Five, The Imposter, The Queen of Versailles, Searching for Sugar Man, and West of Memphis were nominated for best documentary feature.

The 18th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards will be handed out Jan. 10 — the same day that the Academy Award nominations are announced — at the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, Calif., and telecast on the CW.

Farewell to J.R.

NEW YORK — J.R. Ewing will get a send-off with a proper funeral on Dallas.

TNT begins the second season of its Dallas revival next month. The network said Tuesday that it will hold a funeral for Larry Hagman’s memorable character at some point in the 15-episode season but that it hasn't been filmed or scheduled yet. Hagman died at age 81 over the Thanksgiving weekend.

A TNT spokesman says the network isn’t saying how Ewing will be killed off in the series. Hagman kept working until soon before his death from complications of cancer, and will appear in several of the new season’s episodes.

Hagman’s character is a television icon dating back to the “Who Shot J.R.?” episodes in the 1980s.

Rock hall inductions

LOS ANGELES — The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 2013 class will be remembered for its variety.

The eclectic group of rockers Rush and Heart, rappers Public Enemy, songwriter Randy Newman, “Queen of Disco” Donna Summer, and bluesman Albert King will be inducted into the hall of fame next April in Los Angeles.

The ceremony will mark the end of a long wait for fans of five of the six acts, who’ve been eligible for entry for some time. Public Enemy was inducted on its first ballot appearance, swelling the ranks of hip-hop entries to four.

Quincy Jones and Lou Adler will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award given for contributions beyond performance.

The inductees were announced Tuesday by 2012 inductee Flea of The Red Hot Chili Peppers at a news conference in Los Angeles.