Ohio Highway Patrol honors local troopers


The Ohio Highway Patrol’s Swanton post has named Gregory Harkey trooper of the year for his work in 2012.

Fellow officers chose Mr. Harkey based on “leadership abilities, professional ethics, courteous treatment of others, enthusiastic work attitude, and cooperation with supervisors, peers, and the public,” according to a statement.

He was trooper of the year at the post in Defiance in 2003.

Across Ohio, 57 troopers were honored, as were 29 dispatchers.

For the Findlay district, which covers seven posts in northwest Ohio, Trooper Shawn D. Cook of the Van Wert post was named district trooper of the year.