Wagener easily stays in office in Maumee

Elmore incumbent defeats older brother; Waterville residents pick 1st female mayor

Maumee Mayor Tim Wagener walks through the buffet line at a poll watching party at La Fiesta in Maumee.
Maumee Mayor Tim Wagener walks through the buffet line at a poll watching party at La Fiesta in Maumee.

Facing only his second challenger in 12 years, incumbent Maumee Mayor Tim Wagener overwhelmingly won Tuesday's election, beating Republican Maumee City Councilman Timothy Pauken.

Mayor Wagener, who appeared tense early in the evening, studied a calculator and a pad of paper, waiting for the results at a Mexican restaurant in Maumee.

"I couldn't be happier," said Mayor Wagener, 54, a Democrat, after he won. "This is overwhelming."

It was the first time he faced re-election since officials announced the mayor was being investigated by the Ohio Ethics Commission for intermingling his personal finances while in office.

"This has been a very special night for my wife and myself [and] a lot of friends and family and supporters," he said.

In Elmore, where two brothers ran for mayor, incumbent Lowell Krumnow was the winner, defeating his older brother James Krumnow.

But Mayor Krumnow, the village's leader since 1992, said he wasn't going to rub in his victory over his brother because "it might come back to bite" him in a future election.

In a heated Sylvania Township race, appointed incumbent Neal Mahoney captured more than half of the votes, holding off three challengers to win a seat on the board of trustees.

In Perrysburg, J. Todd Grayson won his first election since being appointed June 7 to city council. Incumbents Thomas Mackin, Timothy McCarthy, and John Kevern easily won the other three seats.

Perrysburg Township Trustee Craig LaHote was also re-elected Tuesday.

Seven seats were on the Oregon City Council ballot and the six incumbents running for office were all re-elected.

Incumbents Jerry Peach, Dennis Walendzak, James Seaman, Michael Sheehy, Terry Reeves, and Sandy Bihn all won another two-year term. Challenger Thomas Susor also won office and will be the lone new face on the board. Appointed incumbent Kathleen Pollauf did not seek another term.

Waterville voters made history Tuesday, electing Lori Brodie as its first-ever female mayor.

Waterville, which became a city earlier this year, had a female village administrator at one point years ago, but never a female mayor, according to the Waterville Historical Society.

Timothy Pedro, Barb Bruno, and James Valtin were also elected onto the Waterville City Council, defeating two incumbents, Tim Guzman and John Gouttiere.

In Rossford, voters chose Neil MacKinnon III as mayor and Larry Oberdorf, Robert Ruse, and Gregory Marquette as city council members.

Northwood Mayor Mark Stoner won re-election.

For the Whitehouse mayor race, incumbent Angela Kuhn won while Donald Atkinson, Michelle Tippie, and Dennis Recker beat out a field of eight candidates for the three seats on the Whitehouse Village Council.

Elsewhere in northwest Ohio, incumbent Andy Glenn was re-elected onto the Springfield Township Board of Trustees.

Katherine O'Connell and Corey Hupp won seats on the Ottawa Hills Village Council.

Contact Gabrielle Russon at: grusson@theblade.com, or 419-724-6026.