Bater in lead for Lenawee County Register of Deeds


ADRIAN —With nearly half the Lenawee County precincts reporting early today, incumbent Register of Deeds Carolyn Bater appeared to be ahead of challenger Sharon Wimple.

Ms. Bater, a Republican who was appointed to the office in April, was about 1,500 votes ahead of Ms. Wimple, a Democrat, in the race for a four-year term.

Ms. Bater worked in the office for 23 years before she was appointed register in April to replace Vicki Daniels, who retired.

District 7 Commissioner John Tuckerman, a Republican, was winning re-election to a sixth, two-year term, fending off challenges from Democrat Paul Benjamin and independent Ray Soff.

Incumbent Republican Chris Wittenbach was on his way to defeating Democrat Todd Morgan to retain the office of District 9 Commissioner.

In other contests, District 1 Commissioner David Stimpson was running against Democrat Gayle Keiser. Mr. Stimpson, a Republican, is seeking his third term on the board. No results had been reported.

No results were available for the election of District 5 commissioner, which has pitted incumbent Democrat Karol Bolton against Republican William Hoffman.

Blissfield Township had no vote tallies for the supervisor, clerk, and trustee. Republican Adolio Navarro, Jr., and Democrat Mark Burgermeister are running for supervisor.

Incumbent Democrat Nancy Cranor is being challenged by Democrat Jennifer Lopez-Kandik for clerk. Incumbent Orrin Gregg, who is an independent, Republicans Devon Gilson-Pitts and Kris Ruhl, and independent Patrick Laberdee are running for two trustee seats on the township board.

Also unreported are the results for race for Riga Township supervisor in which Republican Kevon Martis is running against independent Gary Kastel.

Republican Paul Dusseau and independent Thomas Jaffee, who are both incumbents, are opposed by Republican Karlene Goetz, who is the current clerk, for two trustee spots.

Contact Mark Reiter at: or 419-724-6199.