6 GOP candidates seek seat on commission


Six Wood County Republicans have applied for the county commissioner seat vacated at year’s end by Commissioner Tim Brown.

The GOP’s 60-member central committee is to meet the candidates at 7 p.m. Thursday at the Junior Fair Building at the fairgrounds and choose a successor to Mr. Brown, who was elected in November to Ohio’s 3rd House District seat.

The candidates are David Beaverson, Roger Bostdorff, Doris Herringshaw, Terry Krukemyer, Richard Ruffner, and Bob Watrol.

Last March, Ms. Herringshaw won the five-way GOP primary for commissioner, defeating Mr. Beaverson, Mr. Krukemyer, Mr. Ruffner, and Adam Seibert. In November, she was defeated by Democrat Joel Kuhlman, who had been appointed by his party to replace retired Commissioner Alvie Perkins.