Bedford library seeks money for building costs

Hopefuls jockey for spots in county, state offices

Driveway repairs are needed at Bedford Branch Library at 8575 Jackman Rd.
Driveway repairs are needed at Bedford Branch Library at 8575 Jackman Rd.

MONROE — Voters in Monroe County will consider a host of issues and candidates — from a library levy in Bedford Township to hopefuls for the county board of commissioners and Michigan House and Senate — in Tuesday’s primary election.

In Bedford Township, residents will vote on a five-year, 0.25-mill levy that that would be used to run the Bedford Branch Library’s building at 8575 Jackman Rd. The cost to the owner of a $175,000 home would be $22 per year, according to Jodi Russ, community librarian. The millage would raise $245,000 annually.

The Monroe County Library System pays for equipment and librarians, but Bedford taxpayers cover the cost of the library building’s expenses, most recently through a 0.75-mill levy that expired in 2012.

“The levy funds the operation of the building itself, so the library can be open to the public,” Ms. Russ said.

Also in Bedford, former supervisor Walt Wilburn is running unopposed as a Republican for the District 8 seat on the county board of commissioners. There are no Democrats in the race.

The primary contest for the Michigan 56th House District, which includes Bedford and much of Monroe County, features Tom Redmond, a Democrat running unopposed, and two Republicans: Jason Sheppard, the current county commissioner representing District 8, and Irma Kubiske.

In Erie Township, Trustee Shawn Cousino, a Republican appointed to an unexpired term, is unopposed.

The race for the Michigan 17th Senate District seat features Republican Dale Zorn and Democrat Doug Spade. Mr. Zorn is the 56th House District incumbent.

The current 17th District incumbent Randy Richardville (R., Monroe) is term limited.

Two candidates are on the ballot for the Michigan 17th House District: Democratic incumbent Bill LaVoy and Republican Charles Londo.

County Commissioner David Hoffman, the District 1 incumbent, is unchallenged for the GOP endorsement. Jeremy McBee is the Democrat on the ballot.

Other candidates for the county board are: District 2, Mark Brant, the Republican incumbent, and Democrat Rico Perez; District 3, Albert Potratz, the Democratic incumbent, and Republican Dawn Asper; District 4, incumbent Robert Lambert, a Democrat, and Republican Dan Donahue; District 5, incumbent Democrat Jason Richard Turner, Democrat Scott Davidson, and Republican Norm Matthes; District 6, incumbent Jerry Oley, a Democrat, and Harry Reisig, a Democrat; District 7, Republican Gary Wilmoth and Democrat Mike Miller will vie for a vacant seat, and in District 9, Republican incumbent J. Henry Lievens.

In the nonpartisan judicial races, the top two vote-getters will be on the November ballot. First District Court Judge Mark Braunlich is on the ballot with Anthony Brescol, Michael Brown, and Jarod Michael Calkins.

The Monroe County Probate Court race features incumbent Judge Cheryl Lohmeyer, Jill LaVoy, and Melissa Matiash.

LaSalle Township and Mason Consolidated Schools have requests for new taxes on the ballot. LaSalle Township’s request is for a five-year, 0.5-mill tax for fire protection.

The Mason school district is requesting a six-year 2-mill sinking fund levy for maintenance and improvements.

Contact Carl Ryan at: or 419-724-6095.