Friday, Jul 01, 2016
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

Pro

Wall to Wall Walleye

On The Hook with Willie Coetzee

Walleye-Logo-11-14

Enlarge

Position: Left wing

Jersey Number: 15

Ht./Wt: 5-11, 180

Birthplace: Johannesburg, South Africa

Age: 22

Favorite way to spend time away from the rink: I really like relaxing with my fiancee [Michelle] and my dog [Annie]. And going out places and seeing the town. We like watching movies at the theater.

Hockey player you admired growing up: Pavel Bure. He's always my favorite. But also [Pavel] Datsyuk and [Henrik] Zetterberg. I admire how well they play on offense and defense.

Favorite sports other than hockey: Soccer and golf

Favorite type of music: Everything. I've always liked country. I like the rock band Anberlin.

Favorite meal? Spaghetti squash. I also like pasta sauce with ground beef.

Have you ever eaten walleye? I haven't had walleye before. But I have had halibut.

Favorite beverage: Coconut water

Best fast food: Chipotle

Favorite Movie: Saving Private Ryan

Favorite TV Show: Walking Dead

Do you have a Twitter account? @willcoetzee

Nickname: I've had a lot. Right now it's Bill.

What's your hockey superstition? I always eat the same meal before games. I always try to dress my right side first. I juggle tennis balls before games. I also knock on wood.

Hidden talent: Juggling a tennis ball or playing guitar.

What would you be doing if you weren't playing hockey? Playing another sport or joining the Army.

If you could meet one person, dead or alive, who would it be? Tom Hanks

Favorite place you've been to? Whistler, B.C.

Something nobody knows about you: I'm very open with what I do. I try not to hide anything. I do have a 3 handicap in golf.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2015 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…