Six student-athletes enter UT's Hall of Fame class


The University of Toledo Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame announced its 2013 inductees today.

Included in the Class of 2013 are six former student-athletes: Jim Harding (football, 1997-2000), Kelly Meinhart (softball, 1985-88), Robert Pawlak (men’s basketball, 1958-61), Pat Reilly (wrestling, 1960-63), John Wesley Saunders (football/men’s basketball, 1969-71) and Tom Ward (football, 1999-2002).

The 2013 class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the induction banquet on Friday, Feb. 8 at Savage Arena. Social hour for the event begins at 6 p.m. and dinner will follow at 7 p.m.

Also at the banquet the Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame will present the Distinguished Service Award to longtime team physician Dr. Roger Kruse, and posthumously to former faculty athletics representative John Stoepler.

The 2013 Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame class will also be introduced at halftime of the men’s basketball game on Saturday, Feb. 9. The Rockets host Eastern Michigan at 7 p.m.

Tickets for the Varsity ‘T’ Hall of Fame induction dinner can be purchased by calling the Athletic Development Office at 419-530-5347. Tickets for Rocket basketball games can be purchased at the UT Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 419-530-GOLD.