Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


11 Rockets, 10 Falcons earn All-MAC honors

UT kicker Detmer named MAC special teams player of the year


University of Toledo kicker Jeremiah Detmer (85) points to the sky after kicking his first field goal against Eastern Washington University in September.

Blade Enlarge

University of Toledo kicker Jeremiah Detmer was named Mid-American Conference special teams player of the year today.

Additionally, 11 Rockets were named All-MAC. Bowling Green State University landed 10 honorees.

Detmer led the MAC in field goals and field goal percentage by making 19 of 20 attempts. He has converted 36 of his last 37 tries dating to last season. Detmer also made 44 of 45 PATs this season, with the miss coming on a blocked kick last week at Akron.

Also collecting awards were Northern Illinois's Rod Carey (coach of the year); NIU quarterback Jordan Lynch (Vern Smith Leadership and offensive player of the year); Buffalo linebacker Khalil Mack (defensive player of the year); and Western Michigan's receiver Corey Davis (freshman of the year).

Ballots were due Nov. 26, prior to each team's regular season finale.

Named first-team MAC for Toledo were Detmer, running back David Fluellen, defensive end Jayrone Elliott, and linebacker Junior Sylvestre.

Making second team were offensive linemen Greg Mancz and Zac Kerin, and receiver Bernard Reedy.

Third-team selections were quarterback Terrance Owens, guard Jeff Myers, receiver Alonzo Russell, and defensive tackle Treyvon Hester.

Making first team for Bowling Green were offensive linemen Chief Kekuewa and Dominic Flewellyn, and defensive back BooBoo Gates.

Second-team honorees were offensive lineman Alex Huettel, running back Travis Greene, linebackers D.J. Lynch and Gabe Martin, defensive lineman Ted Ouellet, and punt returner Ryan Burbrink.

Tight end Alex Bayer made third team for the Falcons, who will play Northern Illinois on Friday at Ford Field for the MAC title.

Northern Illinois led the way with six first team selections, followed by Buffalo with five and Ball State and Toledo with four. Overall, Ball State led with 15 honorees, followed by Toledo with 11. Northern Illinois and Bowling Green had 10 a piece.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…