Thursday, July 02, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 12/1/2011

2 from LC on All-Ohio first team

Patrick Henry's Conkle also on Division V squad

Justin Gillen Justin Gillen

Two senior lineman who helped Liberty Center to an unbeaten regular season, a No. 5 state ranking, and its first Northwest Ohio Athletic League football championship in 10 years have been named to the Associated Press All-Ohio Division V first team.

The Tigers' Justin Gillen, who was the NWOAL's offensive player of the year, a rarity for an offensive lineman, received his Ohio honor at that position.

Bryan Hefflinger, who led Liberty Center in tackles three straight seasons, was chosen as a defensive lineman.

Joining them on the D-V first team is Dakota Conkle, a senior defensive back from Liberty-Benton.

Bryan Hefflinger Bryan Hefflinger

Patrick Henry, which lost to Liberty Center in NWOAL play but beat the Tigers in the regional playoff semifinals, placed junior defensive lineman Jake Carrizales on the second team.

Also from the NWOAL, sophomore placekicker Lincoln Parsley of Archbold was named to the third team on offense.

In Division VI, McComb junior Jerry Brown made the second team at running back, and his teammate, junior Michael Jones, was selected to the third team as a defensive lineman.

Also in D-VI, Edon's Shannon Geren, a senior running back who was the Toledo Area Athletic Conference offensive player of the year, was selected to the third team.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories